We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Budget Place With a Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayol Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mayol Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Budget Place With a Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our room was clean, and had a small desk. Pretty short list of features, but it fit the budget.

There is a swimming pool which looked clean.

The manager did not exactly seem hostile, but plainly should be in another line of work.

The Mayol is located a block off the main highway and the quiet central location is a plus. However noisy construction was underway all day so that was a drawback.

Room Tip: Look around. I think ours may have been the worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    51
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
52
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

At first glance this Lodge doesn't seem like much but the rooms are very clean, the bed comfortable and the rooms have mini-fridges, coffee pots, TV and wireless internet. The Lodge is just 2 blocks off the central square, has a lovely garden and a pool. The owner is very friendly and very willing to help with directions to restaurants or otherwise be helpful (she only speaks Spanish). The Lodge is a quiet haven to spend a night or two and you wake to lots of birds. The rooms are non-smoking but there is a balcony outside the room with chairs (Sarchi chairs, very comfortable) and a small table and the hall outside each room also has chairs and a table. If I ever return I would certainly stay as for the price I found it a real bargain.

Room Tip: I would request a room on the upper level to have a bit of view and not be looking directly at the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1957Judy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

we stayed there for one night and you get what you pay for. you cant expect a five star room and service for the little money you pay there. the staff and owner started to open up and be very friendly when we talked spanish with everybody there.
all together we had a good night there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miguelsastre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripletoes
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ended up staying here because of a mix up with our reservation at another hotel. They wouldn't give us a break on the price even though the rooms were not even half as good as the place we were supposed to stay. The walls were dirty, bathroom tiny, bed uncomfortable. Staff was completely unhelpful and rude. They seem to have no concept of how disgusting their place is. Definitely pass this place by.

Room Tip: Maybe a room by the pools is better. Ours was disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel was empty. We were the only people who stayed there. The swimming pool is clean and there are a few beds to lay on. We had a big room on the first floor with a balcony on the volcany site. Beautiful! The hotel is just a few meters from the city center, but is is quiet. The lady at the reception is friendly, but dont speak english. Which was a bit difficult, so we booked tours etc at an other hotel. the rooms are exluded from breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We arrived to Mayo Lodge after having booked a standard twin room. On arrival there was no one at reception and we had to wait about 10 minutes until one of the house keepers realized we were there.
We were taken to our room but the smell of mold was so strong that we asked for another room. We were told that they did not have anymore standard rooms available so we ended up paying more than expected for a 'superior'room.
The room was big, with A/C and great views of the volcano.
We decided to pay on arrival in cash, I asked for a receipt and as the owner was not there I was told they would give the receipt later. This never happened. I did not think this would be a problem what I was wrong!! The morning of our departure we left early in the morning as we were taking a bus to Puerto Viejo. As I went to reception to return the room keys I was told by the staff at reception that I had not payed for the room. I explained what had happened but the person at reception did not believe us and called his boss. We were running out of time and we almost missed our bus waiting for the owner. I had to explain to her what had happened again and she seemed to believe us but we almost did not make it to our bus.
Mayol Lodge was not a good experience at all. Avoid it if you can!!!!

Room Tip: Chose a room by the pool with views to the volcano. Avoid the rooms near the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natilia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We took a 2nd floor room with volcano view but our room was also next to the road, so a bit noisy. We saw the volcano for 40 mins one night. The rest of the time it was cloudy.

The pool area was very nice, close to the river & very relaxing. We only swam once bec it wasn't that hot outside.

The room was big & clean but not fancy. Try to get a room closer to the pool. The downstairs rooms were a lot cheaper but not as nice.

Staff was ok. Not very friendly but ok. Soda El Rio up the street is great for breakfast. Viquez is also a great soda only a block away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,321 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 67 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bijagua
Hotel Bijagua
#1 of 38 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#10 of 67 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayol Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayol Lodge

Property: Mayol Lodge
Address: | 75 mts east from La Fortuna Bus Stop, next to Tacos Serrano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayol Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in La Fortuna, this hotel is close to> the rock pools , Arenal Adventure World, and Ecoglide Arenal Park. Local attractions also include La Fortuna Waterfall and Ecotermales Fortuna. Just 3 minutes walking from La Fortuna Bus Station. Hotel Features In addition to a restaurant, Hotel Mayol Lodge features an outdoor pool. Other amenities include a poolside bar and complimentary wireless Internet access. Room Amenities Guestrooms have complimentary wireless Internet access, complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access, cable tv, air conditioning or fan, private bath with hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Mayol Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayol Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing