We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great beds, but dont speak english”
Review of Mayol Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mayol Lodge
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel was empty. We were the only people who stayed there. The swimming pool is clean and there are a few beds to lay on. We had a big room on the first floor with a balcony on the volcany site. Beautiful! The hotel is just a few meters from the city center, but is is quiet. The lady at the reception is friendly, but dont speak english. Which was a bit difficult, so we booked tours etc at an other hotel. the rooms are exluded from breakfast.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 151 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

We arrived to Mayo Lodge after having booked a standard twin room. On arrival there was no one at reception and we had to wait about 10 minutes until one of the house keepers realized we were there.
We were taken to our room but the smell of mold was so strong that we asked for another room. We were told that they did not have anymore standard rooms available so we ended up paying more than expected for a 'superior'room.
The room was big, with A/C and great views of the volcano.
We decided to pay on arrival in cash, I asked for a receipt and as the owner was not there I was told they would give the receipt later. This never happened. I did not think this would be a problem what I was wrong!! The morning of our departure we left early in the morning as we were taking a bus to Puerto Viejo. As I went to reception to return the room keys I was told by the staff at reception that I had not payed for the room. I explained what had happened but the person at reception did not believe us and called his boss. We were running out of time and we almost missed our bus waiting for the owner. I had to explain to her what had happened again and she seemed to believe us but we almost did not make it to our bus.
Mayol Lodge was not a good experience at all. Avoid it if you can!!!!

Room Tip: Chose a room by the pool with views to the volcano. Avoid the rooms near the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natilia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We took a 2nd floor room with volcano view but our room was also next to the road, so a bit noisy. We saw the volcano for 40 mins one night. The rest of the time it was cloudy.

The pool area was very nice, close to the river & very relaxing. We only swam once bec it wasn't that hot outside.

The room was big & clean but not fancy. Try to get a room closer to the pool. The downstairs rooms were a lot cheaper but not as nice.

Staff was ok. Not very friendly but ok. Soda El Rio up the street is great for breakfast. Viquez is also a great soda only a block away.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed one night at Mayol Lodge. Since we arrived quite late we had a rather quick look at the small room on ground level the unfriendly owner or caretaker offered for $ 35. When we came back after dinner and went to bed, we noticed a disgusting bad smell of mold on the pillows and mattress. The friendly muchacho who was on night shift gave us a nice and spacious room with much better facilities. Next morning we proposed to stay two more nights but in the big room for $ 35. The owner reacted extremely unfriendly again, so that we left this place very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beatriz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Éviter , la cbambre 2 et 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier8433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ATOR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.5 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,582 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 77 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
658 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,394 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayol Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayol Lodge

Address: | 75 mts east from La Fortuna Bus Stop, next to Tacos Serrano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayol Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in La Fortuna, this hotel is close to> the rock pools , Arenal Adventure World, and Ecoglide Arenal Park. Local attractions also include La Fortuna Waterfall and Ecotermales Fortuna. Just 3 minutes walking from La Fortuna Bus Station. Hotel Features In addition to a restaurant, Hotel Mayol Lodge features an outdoor pool. Other amenities include a poolside bar and complimentary wireless Internet access. Room Amenities Guestrooms have complimentary wireless Internet access, complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access, cable tv, air conditioning or fan, private bath with hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mayol Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayol Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing