We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Knowledgable Guide”
Review of Ecocentro Danaus

Ecocentro Danaus
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Nature Walk at Ecological Park and Butterfly Garden Danaus
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Butterfly and Fauna Garden at Danaus Eco-Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Small private Natural Reserve that takes care of a secundary forest in natural reneration. iT counts with a 600mts trail along the park. Around the facility you will find sloths (2 and 3 toes) a pretty big diversity of birds (Aprox.170spp)Butterfly garden, where you breed close to 20 different species. The frogs are very common, but mostly at night, in the day the msot active one is the blue jeans frog. It also has a small natural lake where Iguanas, Boat billed Herons and Caimans interact together. Besides wildlife, the Ecocentro Danaus supports the Maleku's Indigenous by providing a small facility where they can teach and exhibit their art ( Buying their art is optional )
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Knowledgable Guide”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our guide was FANTASTIC. Our group was just two couples and he spent time explaining everything and did the full tour. It was awesome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ddavis179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you very much for you visit and comments!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    152
    44
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to see Costa Rica plants and animals”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We live part time in Costa Rica and have visited Ecocentro Danaus twice. We enjoyed the first visit so much that we recently took a houseguest and she loved Ecocentro Danaus.

Beyond the amazing tropical plants, we saw several different kinds of frogs, a caiman, butterflies, a wide variety of birds and a baby sloth.

If you go, be sure to retain a guide as the animals are difficult to find on your own. Our guide on both visits was Elias who is fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks a lot for your comments, we are grateful that you enjoyed your visit..........!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspley Guise, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“semi wild”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Rain forest that had been cleared for farming then reinstated as rain forest. Surely a good thing. Yes much of the wildlife has been reintroduced and breeding is assisted (or it would still be cows). Is it a "zoo" or a "safari park" ? No - there are no barriers preventing frogs and snakes from leaving or eating each other, a concept that would make the lion/zebra interaction far more exciting at our local safari park. Why not 5 ? By chance, we saw everything in the first half hour - and it got a bit repetitive after that. Could spice it up with an optional "wade through the cayman lagoon with no torch" to appeal to the zip line adrenaline junkies. Worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dave f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks a lost for your comments and visit!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Night Tour was GREAT”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were the only 2 people on our tour. Saw about 4 different types of tree frogs (in addition to a lot of other insects and lizards) and our tour guide helped take beautiful pictures. We even saw a sloth up close as it came down a tree!! A little expensive but worth it. There is a small gift shop there that also sells things. A drink is included in your tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nisfornancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
We are very grateful for your visit, thanks a lot!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sloths, tree frogs, and a great guide!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went as a group of three and received a private tour from Elias, who was a fantastic guide. He knew so much about all of the wildlife on the tour and shared tons of info with us. We definitely recommend getting a guided tour (and especially asking for Elias) because we would not have seen anywhere near as much wildlife on our own.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks a lot for sharing this comments!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecocentro Danaus also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Ecocentro Danaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing