We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful nature reserve!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ecocentro Danaus

Ecocentro Danaus
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Nature Walk at Ecogolical Park and Butterfly Garden Danaus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Small private Natural Reserve that takes care of a secundary forest in natural reneration. iT counts with a 600mts trail along the park. Around the facility you will find sloths (2 and 3 toes) a pretty big diversity of birds (Aprox.170spp)Butterfly garden, where you breed close to 20 different species. The frogs are very common, but mostly at night, in the day the msot active one is the blue jeans frog. It also has a small natural lake where Iguanas, Boat billed Herons and Caimans interact together. Besides wildlife, the Ecocentro Danaus supports the Maleku's Indigenous by providing a small facility where they can teach and exhibit their art ( Buying their art is optional )
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful nature reserve!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our private tour was fabulous, our guide carried around a telescope and was able to find sloths in trees and give us a close up view and took pictures with our phones for us, we saw toucans up close as well. We also saw frogs, a crocodile, lizards and many birds and the butterfly exhibit was extraordinary! We also enjoyed the medicinal plants garden.
Wonderful experience, I highly recommend this national park. We also had a cloudless view of the Arenal volcano!

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your visit and comments, we hope to see you again soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    140
    41
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent nature preserve with plenty of animal options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

During a private two-hour nigh tour, the guide was able to find two sloths, multiple frogs, a kinkajou, opossum, agouti and caimans. Excellent service! Highly recommended! Don't worry so much about the rain. It was pouring, and we still saw tons of wildlife. Bring bug spray -- although the mosquitos weren't bad, it's good to be prepared.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SojournExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We really appreciate your comments. Thanks so much for visit us!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here - the iguanas and lizards were plentiful and the flowers were lovely. Go early in the morning; it is quieter and cooler. It can get quite humid in the butterfly garden but well worth the experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Buttners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see soon again............!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to see wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great little park. The butterfly exhibit was great, seeing caimen swimming around was awesome. A must do for a great price. The Maleku art was great and reasonably priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your visit and comments, have a great day!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
148 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fun little tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stopped in here on our way out of the Arenal region and were glad that we did. The guide was very friendly and informative. We got to see a butterfly emerging from a chrysalis and opening its wings for the first time. We also saw some caymen, 3 sloths (2 adults and 1 super adorable baby), a bunch of lizards, several blue jean poison dart frogs, many insects, an agouti and a collection of birds. We stopped in one area to listen to a short cultral presentation from a man who is part of the indigenous Maleku group. He had a lot of really neat artwork for sale which I regret not buying. The main gift shop was reasonably priced and I purchased a framed set of butterflies and some locally made earrings. Overall, the property is pretty small but nicely maintained with a variety of plants and animals to make your time worth the stop. I enjoyed my time here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Shyla M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks so much for your visit. We appreciate a lot your comments and we hope to see you again soon!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecocentro Danaus also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Ecocentro Danaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing