We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of wildlife to see”
Review of Ecocentro Danaus

Ecocentro Danaus
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Butterfly and Fauna Garden at Danaus Eco-Center
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Nature Walk at Ecological Park and Butterfly Garden Danaus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Small private Natural Reserve that takes care of a secundary forest in natural reneration. iT counts with a 600mts trail along the park. Around the facility you will find sloths (2 and 3 toes) a pretty big diversity of birds (Aprox.170spp)Butterfly garden, where you breed close to 20 different species. The frogs are very common, but mostly at night, in the day the msot active one is the blue jeans frog. It also has a small natural lake where Iguanas, Boat billed Herons and Caimans interact together. Besides wildlife, the Ecocentro Danaus supports the Maleku's Indigenous by providing a small facility where they can teach and exhibit their art ( Buying their art is optional )
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Agoutis, caiman, basilisk lizards, poison dart frogs, and excellent butterfly garden, great birding. This is a wonderful place for the beginner and advanced naturalist. All trails are very easy, and if you take you time, you can see plenty. this is not a zoo, but more of a preserve for wildlife. It's well worth the visit. Look for sloths at the entrance. The friendly staff can also point them out to you.

Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you very much, was a pleasure to have you here!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 408 of 706 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Don't expect it to be wild jungle, but it is a worthwhile visit if you are interested in plant life, reforestation, and butterflies. My teen son and I took the 1-1/2 hour tour. It is amazing to see what the people at Ecocentro Danaus have created in a mere 17 years. The reforested area looks like it has been there for so much longer and has attracted a variety of animal life. It is an example of how destroyed land might be restored. It was a great opportunity to see sloths, which are more difficult to spot in the open jungle. We also saw a lot of different colorful birds up close that we hadn't seen elsewhere. Our guide was super friendly and offered to speak in English for us, even on the Spanish tour, (though part of the fun was seeing how much we could understand in Spanish.) We also saw an agouti, cayman and red squirrels. The butterfly exhibit was definitely a favorite part, as we saw butterflies up close that we previously only saw fleetingly elsewhere, as well as the different caterpillars and chrysalises.
We are happy to have supported their work.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank kaybeerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We appreciate a lot your comments..............Thanks you very much for your visit............!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband, 10 yr old son and I visited the Ecocentro Danaus in July '13 and it was one of my favorites things we did all week! We got the guided tour with Elias and he was the BEST. I love learning about wildlife and he told us so much information and showed us so many animals. He also helped me with my camera and got some fantastic shots of a baby sloth, red-eyed tree frog and a blue jean poison dart frog. The area itself is beautiful with lush vegetation and easy to navigate paths. It was like strolling through a beautiful garden. This is a wonderful place to visit, and I highly recommend it!

1  Thank Betsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks you very much for the comments .....We hope to see you and your family soon again!!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good effort to reforest a deforested area. If it wasn't for that, I would have felt worse about spending my $65 here for 2 kids and 1 adult. You can go on a guided or self tour here. They will show you for a while the flowers, trees on property and explain the efforts to reforest this area. Next you will enter the serpenarium, where there are several native poisonous and non-poisonous snakes behind glass. Pit vipors etc. Next crocodiles from USA FL.
Been there done that, seen bigger as I have been to FL several times. Next you will see poison dart frogs and red-eyed tree frogs.
Those were really colorful and neat to see. They were also behind glass like at a zoo. Towards the end, the guide "happened" to spot a red-eyed tree frog - the "mascot" of Costa Rica just attached to a tree right on the trail. We did get to hold it and photograph it. It landed on my son's head. That was the highlight of the trip.
Would not have visited this place, but it was raining all day and it was in walking distance from our resort.

Thank Kelli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your visit and comments.!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the highlights of our trip. Well groomed, very easy trail. We had a Great guide with good English. He was very passionate and excited which made it more enjoyable. It was only $5 more per person for the guided tour and well worth it! We saw sloths, poison dart frogs, basilisk lizard, many birds, iguanas, butterflies, etc. the butterfly house was well done too. This is not a large place but we saw more wildlife here than anywhere else in the La Fortuna area.

Thank Carrie3324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director General at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your visit and for your comments. We hope to see soon again.......!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecocentro Danaus also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Ecocentro Danaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing