We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nighttime rainforest walk”
Review of Ecocentro Danaus

Ecocentro Danaus
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Nature Walk at Ecological Park and Butterfly Garden Danaus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Small private Natural Reserve that takes care of a secundary forest in natural reneration. iT counts with a 600mts trail along the park. Around the facility you will find sloths (2 and 3 toes) a pretty big diversity of birds (Aprox.170spp)Butterfly garden, where you breed close to 20 different species. The frogs are very common, but mostly at night, in the day the msot active one is the blue jeans frog. It also has a small natural lake where Iguanas, Boat billed Herons and Caimans interact together. Besides wildlife, the Ecocentro Danaus supports the Maleku's Indigenous by providing a small facility where they can teach and exhibit their art ( Buying their art is optional )
Little Egg Harbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nighttime rainforest walk”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We saw amazing animals, bugs, lizards, etc...including a baby sloth that we got to pet! The tour guide was great, and it was an experience we will never forget!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks so much for your visit and comment.............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    149
    43
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Informative Adventure!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I are real nature lovers. The staff at Ecocentro is very nice and very informative. We just walked in and they were very accommodating. Thank goodness we arrive during a lower season and just when another tour was leaving. We got to casually walk around with our guide and learned a lot about the animal and habitat. We will go back if we re-visit this area in the future.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deeeelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and comment........We hope to see you soon again..!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to see some wildlife”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Costs $12 without a guide, $17 with a guide - definitely worth taking a guide. It took about an hour and a half to see the grounds with a guide at a leisurely pace (flat and an easy walk for anyone who'd be concerned with that). It's not a big place but there was plenty to see, from sloths to tree frogs to birds to butterflies.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we hope to see you again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant, easy way to view Costa Rican wildlife”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The nature reserve at Ecocentro Danaus is a great way to get an introduction to Costa Rica's wildlife if you are short on time. The park is not very large, but is packed full of interesting plants and animals. It's very easy to walk through, suitable for small children or elderly folks. Would highly suggest paying the little extra for a guide. Our guide was able to point out animals along the way we would have never spotted on our own. He was also a great source of information about the animals and the flora.

Visited April 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Phoenixdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your visit and for your comment, we hope to see you again soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“loved the slothes”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a great time there it was part of a full day adventure it was a clam walk with many animals our guide was very informative, the rest of are tour was of the Aerial Volcano were we bathed in the hot springs

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your comment.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecocentro Danaus also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Ecocentro Danaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing