We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“THIS PLACE IS THE BOMB!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Hostel Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
“THIS PLACE IS THE BOMB!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed in a single room which was big, had air conditioning and a shower! This hostel knows how to vibe! Hammocks everywhere, a sick pool with a waterfall and a swim up bar. The staff is knowledgeable and very friendly! The outdoor activities are SICK! ziplining, waterfall propelling, horseback riding, hiking, hotsprings....oh yeah and there is weed and coke EVERYWHERE in costa rica. The weed kind of sucks (but I did end up finding some bomb in Taramindo) and the coke...well lets just say we're quite close to COLUMBIA

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    139
    64
    20
    19
See reviews for
49
129
110
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I booked a private room which was very large and clean. The bed wasn't super comfortable and the bathroom could have been nicer, but overall this place has enough positives that those things didn't matter. I felt very safe here by myself. The staff was SUPER helpful with booking activities and giving directions. I ended up having a fabulous day of a private jungle tour (I was the only who signed up!), a visit to the hot springs that included dinner and transportation that was all booked at the front desk within a few minutes. So easy and a great day! The location is very close to the bus station which was also nice. The breakfast was good, and a reasonable price, but go down the street to Rainforest Cafe for a great meal that was about the same price and included the most amazing coffee. (I think about that coffee regularly!). Also, the small restaurant near the bus station was my favorite and cheapest meal out of my entire week in Costa Rica. They offer some free activities which I wish I could have worked into my schedule.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RM1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hostel had the friendliest staff in all of Costa Rica. It offers locked gates, room doors, and lockers for security.There is a gorgeous pool with swim-up bar and a beautiful courtyard with palm trees and hammocks. Centrally located right by the bus stop, supermarkets, and restaurants. The staff are happy to book excursions, call taxis, and hang out with you in the bar at night. The kitchen wasn't amazing but served its purpose. You have to pay for breakfast, but the coffee is at least free! Had our time in La Fortuna consisted of simply hanging out in the pool, courtyard, and on our room's balcony, we would have considered it time well spent!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor, north side (main street) have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I'll start with the Positives and then to the Negatives.
++ Location was Great, the Beauty of the Hostel is Very Nice and the Pool & Bar look Fantastic. I didn't use the Kitchen but it looked nice. The food from the Restaurant is good.

- - Upon arrival they want you to wear a Wrist Band, they tell you it is for "Security" but that may be good for the Hostel but it is not good if you are a Single Female or even a Male for that matter because then a thief or anyone else will know where to follow you from or to. Trust me, it is not a good thing.

- - The first room I stayed in had no Lockers and the Door lock looked like it had been tampered with in the past.

- - You pay a deposit for your towel but what they don't tell you is that if your towel gets too dirty you won't get your deposit back. Seems odd since they will wash it anyway.

- - Although the Bar is very nice and the Bartenders are Great I do feel that since it is still a Hostel the prices were a little too high, as well as their food prices.

- - The 6 bed dorm rooms were Small, they should have only 4 beds in those rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apollo1down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was the place we paid least and enjoyed most in our 15 days in Costa Rica. This place is charming, close to restaurants and supermarkets, Great bar and cleaning personal, very clean, and very helpful management. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was because of the beds. We're getting older, and in need of a more comfortable bed to sleep. After this place, we stayed at Hilton Papagayo. Even though we paid 4 times more, we had no free wifi, smoothies were based on syrup and not fresh fruit and everything was designed to get the most money of the guests.
I'm just mentioning that so the management knows that guests are seeing these details and appreciating them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Per L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Loved this place! Excellent helpful staff, great location right around corner from bus station and central in town, an amazing ambiance with hammocks, swim-up pool, little waterfalls-- kind of a Swiss Family Robinson vibe. Perfect name, it is like a cross between a resort and a hostel-- at the hostel price. Nice little kitchen with free coffee. Clean, safe and secure. Only complaint was the beds which desperately need upgrading-- thin squeaky uncomfortable mattresses.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aurabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

There was a kitchen in the room but not real one. I couldn't even use tap because drain isn't connected. And TV reception was not good.
But the bed and the bar, all of the service were perfect. I'm happy to stay there again.
Also security is really good so safe to protect own things inside of the room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#10 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Property: Arenal Hostel Resort
Address: | South side of catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort have the best location and facilities...( dorms and rooms )There are many reasons to visit La Fortuna, Costa Rica, whether your trip brings you here to observe the majestic Arenal Volcano, or to enjoy the pure natural beauty that the area has to offer. Come here to explore or rest and relax surrounded by the silence and mystery of our mountains. Arenal Hostel Resort is a true pioneer of Eco-Tourism in this area. We offer a great place to stay where you will feel at home and meet new people as you embark on the adventure of a lifetime.Arenal Hostel Resort is a place created for you by one of the premier pioneers of tourism development in this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing