We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Really happy i stayed in this hostel-resort! The Administrators are super friendly and VERY-VERY helpful! Helped me to organize all the tours! By the way the best tour company i've ever experienced is Desafio. Animator Augustin suggested couple of great places for lunch after sharing incredible fun in El Salto. Had to stay more than planned cause just simply could not leave as the city and people there are FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: Birds sing too loudly as they wake up at 5 am in the dorms side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sok-ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    159
    78
    29
    31
See reviews for
60
155
130
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hostel is right in the centre of town somwithin easy reach of everything. staff are helpful with organising tours etc. And have lots of tours on offer. The dorm rooms are big, spacious and clean (no hot water however!). Lovely grounds and pool. I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed in this hostel with a group of 8 on two separate occasions- both stays were wonderful! Had private two person rooms on our first visit which were spacious and clean, the second time we opted for an 8 person dorm which was also great! Jesse the manager is great for giving advice on food and trips! Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was the first place we stayed for our travels. Great place, great price!!! The private rooms were clean and spacious.
The guy who runs the place, Jessie, could not be any nicer. He organised so many trips for us, buses, and always ensured we were ok and had everything we needed! We ended up coming back to the hostel for one night during our travels and Jessie had a barbecue for us when we arrived back. Always felt so welcome!
Would recommend asking him about the tours the hostel organises and doing them, we found all our tours to be really good. We were collected and dropped back to the hostel with every tour.
Location is also good, very safe, lots of ATM's, laundry service and the shopping centre is located perfectly, right at the back of the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaFl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was the best hostel we stayed at in Costa Rica. Great clean rooms, hot water, activities cheap and plentiful breakfast, informative staff and safe with parking. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in or around La Fortuna. Talk to Pablo if you get a chance and he'll probably answer any question you have about anywhere in Costa Rica. He'll be here or their sister hostel 100 meters up the street at the Backpackers Hostel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right as you enter the from the street should be quieter because they have a club of so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBPacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is the first place I stayed once getting out of San Jose after arriving in Costa Rica. I will say that after leaving here for the other national parks and attractions that the bar has been set very high for the other hostels. This hostel is a lot of fun, super clean (it is cleaned daily) and connecting the guests to the activities in the surrounding area is made really easy. The host Jesse is a great guy who takes care of you and makes sure that everyone is comfortable and happy with their stay at all times. The social life is good, my girlfriend and I met a lot of great people, a few of which we ended up going hiking with and hanging out with once the sun went down. I would easily recommend this place to anyone traveling in Costa Rica and doing the hostel life, in fact I have already done so to people I have met on my trip after leaving Arenal.

Room Tip: There are rooms for a wide range of budgets but keep in mind that this place is geared toward the yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hostel is really good for the price. It's in the center of La Fortuna. The stuff is really friendly and they will help you in everything you need. With swimming pool, bar...

If you wanna learn about nature: reptiles, frogs, birds, trees... take a tour around the volcano or by the river!!! It was really nice and guides are really good, especially Alonso. So you should try to go with him!! You can get the tour in the hotel, just talk with the stuff. Prices are a little bit expensive, but you won't find anything cheaper around.

El hostal está bastante bien para el precio que tiene. Tienes piscina y bar que puedes dicfrutar hasta las 10, ya que a esa hora apagan la música para que la gente pueda dormir.

Lo mejor desde mi punto de vista es que el propio hotel organiza tours. Algunos de ellos muy buenos. Intentad preguntad por Alonso. Vas a aprender un montón sobre naturaleza: bichos, plantas... de todo!!! Son un poco caros, pero dudo que encontréis algo mas barato por la zona.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javierrdiaz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,513 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,888 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,440 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Property: Arenal Hostel Resort
Address: La Fortuna, San Carlos. | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing