We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostels offers haven in La Fortuna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hostels offers haven in La Fortuna”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at this hostel by accident - having got bumped from another up the road. However, it turned out to be a 'good' accident, as Arenal Hostel Resort turned out to be if not the best, then one of the best places I stayed during a four month trip to S. America and Central America.

You were immediately made to feel extremely welcome by the staff, provided with a free cocktail served by the poolside bar, and given advice about what to see and do in the area. Staff also booked trips on your behalf.

The rooms were spotlessly clean as was the en suite bathroom. Breakfasts were good value - plenty to eat and a good choice of food. For me the the lovely garden with its pool was the winner .... so relaxing to come back to, hot and sticky after a day out, and able to take a dunk in the pool and then chill with a drink in one of the hammocks. Bliss. In fact it felt more like a 'resort' than a 'backpackers'. The challenge for the Resort is to maintain this high level of service and accommodation...and I hope they continue to rise to it - as they have a winner here - and I'd say, the best place to stay in La Fortuna!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    158
    76
    29
    29
See reviews for
60
152
130
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just for one night and we had such a great time. We got a big spacious private room, wich was super clean- and the bed was really comfy! The moment we arrived we got a free welcome drink at the in pool bar wich is so cool! The garden is great, green and has the best hammocks! We were helped with orgenizing and booking travels and entrence to the hot springs. Everything was so clean and nice abd the staff was lovely!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dariaschitrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicoutimi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I actually stayed at the backpacker resort which looks to be the same owners. Spent some time in both hostel since the breakfast where at the arenal hostel. It was great, clean and the staff where amazing. There is private secure parking and the location could not be better. We even got treated with a bbq and live music good times!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was my first experience staying in a hostel. The hostel was in a very secure and safe spot with a locked gate. People have to buzz to get in or out. The hostel is located right across from the centre of La Fortuna so it made it very convenient to explore. La Fortuna is very safe during the day and in the evening.

I found the reception/tour desk to be very helpful and knowledgeable. Although slightly more expensive (only by a few bucks though) if you venture out and find tours on your own, I had a good experience with my tour and I heard some horror stories from some people who booked externally. All of the staff I had dealt with was great. Don’t forget to get your welcoming cocktail, it was very delicious! This makes up for not having breakfast included in the price.

I was a solo traveler and I got a private room on the 2nd floor (I had to pay two people). The room was very basic with very little amenities. They had a single soap dispenser in the shower (in my room anyways). The room had a weird alcove with a counter and a sink which I found to be a little bit useless. It would have been handier if there were some bar stools so I could have sat and used the counter. The room was very clean and comfortable although they need to scrub the walls. I met someone ho had a room downstairs and they said my room was much nicer.

It does seem a bit weird when you walk in and hear party beats but it stops around 10:00pm. All the guests when I was there was very considerate even thought the majority of them were very young. Their only party night is on Saturdays but it wouldn’t affect you if you want to sleep early because they don't stay in the hostel. I actually found it very easy to sleep compared to being in the jungle except when I would hear roosters in the distance around 5:30am.

The grounds were well kept although much smaller than the photos make it out to be but I found it to be very cozy. The bar area was a very nice place to hang out and the bartender was very good.

Their breakfast was decent for what you’re paying, especially considering the prices in La Fortuna. I opted to skip the breakfast buffet and instead get a breakfast on their menu. They used the same stuff from the buffet but your eggs would be made to order, the prices were the same.

Besides the lack of amenities you would find in hotels, I found this similar to a hotel experience. For what you’re paying this is a good choice because it was safe, comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowpjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This is my favourite hostel ever! The atmosphere is amazingly relaxing. It has a pool with a swim up bar and the most delicious cocktails. I need to remind myself to take it easy during happy hour tonight as I got a bit carried away last night :) Hammocks hang in the beautiful garden / courtyard which are great for afternoon naps. I'm staying in a private room which is very clean and comfortable - it has air con and a hot shower too. The staff are very friendly and helpful - they've been so great in helping us plan our activities for the week. I wouldn't stay anywhere else as no other hostel will match this little slice of paradise. Totally good value for money too - if you don't stay here you're stupid!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm from San José and decided to spend a weekend in this place and it was great. Good location, nice rooms (I had a private one), nice little pool with a bar, the staff was very kind, especially Roberto, the guy at the bar, and the canadian girl at the front desk. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A wonderful oasis from town. Stunning, relaxing grounds. Amazing staff (Pablo in particular) helped find many excursions. Hammocks, Pool, Bar, Breakfast area. Everything you need and a great place to meet other travelers. I will definitely return when traveling back to the Arenal area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeninfinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,850 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,487 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,395 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
807 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Property: Arenal Hostel Resort
Address: La Fortuna, San Carlos. | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing