We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If cats could wear pajamas, they would wear them here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“If cats could wear pajamas, they would wear them here.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The grounds are very well kept and the service was incredible. Our receptionist helped us with all of our tour and transportation needs. Bartender Jennifer was very helpful and fun. I totally recommend this hostel. Views of the volcano and all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam_Lion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    158
    76
    29
    29
See reviews for
60
152
130
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Arenal Hostel Resort is, in my opinion, the best hostel in Costa Rica. The staff is extremely helpful, nice, and friendly and the rooms and common areas are kept impeccably clean and beautiful. My friend and I stayed here for five nights and Alonso and Jennifer were so helpful in helping us plan tours, answering our questions, and giving us advice about things to do in La Fortuna. We stayed in the all women six person dorm and it was such a great experience. I highly recommend this hostel as well as visiting La Fortuna/Arenal. AMAZING!!

Room Tip: Private rooms are available, so even if you don't want to stay in a dorm style room, the rates f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a private room in April for 3 nights. The staff where really friendly and helpful. The grounds are excellent and the swim up bar is a real winner. Rooms are basic but clean, they were cleaned every day. The only slight negative was the shower. The water was only warm at certain times and even then it was Luke warm. But all in all worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavik d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The rooms were clean, secure and affordable. We were told right at the beginning that the water heaters are heated by the sun, so we knew to strategically time when we took our showers; but it was warm enough in our room for colder shower water to not be a big problem.
The thing I loved most about this place is all of the other services it provides. Laundry, private transportation back to San Jose, accepting credit cards, charging credit cards in dollars instead of colones, being helpful on the phone, and most importantly, the tour/activity planning services.

Jungleman hooked up tours and activities with a lot of advice from experience, such as "don't go to the safari today, wait for tomorrow when the sun comes out, that is when the caimans come out" and "zip line is good on foggy/drizzly days". His pricing was good (at least it was a lot better than the offers we found in San Jose), he was always right, and would throw in free services, such as transportation to places that didn't require tours. The bar/restaurant provided a delicious menu that cost as little as sodas around the area (the breakfast buffet was $5 if you told them you wanted in the night before), drinks were buy 1 get 1 free during happy hour at the bar, and karaoke provided free shots per song you sang.

I highly recommend this place, at least for groups of young travelers on a budget. The karaoke was probably not good for people trying to sleep early, but everything ended by 10PM, so we could still get enough sleep for our morning adventure the next day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I never expected Arenal Hostel Resort to look like it did. First, you walk down a very well lit and rainforest themed alley way. Then it opens up to a beautiful garden with trees, wonderfully made wooden tables and chairs, a swim up pool bar, and full kitchen. I was amazed by the service. This does not feel like a hostel, but like a very nice hotel. The rooms are wonderful, cozy and spacious. They even fold the towels all fancy on the bed everyday! I would definitely recommend this place if you are visiting Arenal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dish1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was pretty fun rubbing it in people's faces how much we paid for this hostel resort compared to their crazy expensive resort or hotel, lol. This place was a beautiful hostel and a great deal!! We loved the whole communal area. It has a nice pool with a swim up bar, good food, nice beds, a/c in the dorm, great wifi, and incredibly helpful staff!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying at Arenal Hostel resort. My room was very spacious with two separate beds and an AC. Each room has a private bathroom and shower. They also provide towels, which was a nice addition. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snooz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,488 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,854 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Property: Arenal Hostel Resort
Address: La Fortuna, San Carlos. | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HRS and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing