We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome one stop shop in La Fortuna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The rooms were clean, secure and affordable. We were told right at the beginning that the water heaters are heated by the sun, so we knew to strategically time when we took our showers; but it was warm enough in our room for colder shower water to not be a big problem.
The thing I loved most about this place is all of the other services it provides. Laundry, private transportation back to San Jose, accepting credit cards, charging credit cards in dollars instead of colones, being helpful on the phone, and most importantly, the tour/activity planning services.

Jungleman hooked up tours and activities with a lot of advice from experience, such as "don't go to the safari today, wait for tomorrow when the sun comes out, that is when the caimans come out" and "zip line is good on foggy/drizzly days". His pricing was good (at least it was a lot better than the offers we found in San Jose), he was always right, and would throw in free services, such as transportation to places that didn't require tours. The bar/restaurant provided a delicious menu that cost as little as sodas around the area (the breakfast buffet was $5 if you told them you wanted in the night before), drinks were buy 1 get 1 free during happy hour at the bar, and karaoke provided free shots per song you sang.

I highly recommend this place, at least for groups of young travelers on a budget. The karaoke was probably not good for people trying to sleep early, but everything ended by 10PM, so we could still get enough sleep for our morning adventure the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 651 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

I never expected Arenal Hostel Resort to look like it did. First, you walk down a very well lit and rainforest themed alley way. Then it opens up to a beautiful garden with trees, wonderfully made wooden tables and chairs, a swim up pool bar, and full kitchen. I was amazed by the service. This does not feel like a hostel, but like a very nice hotel. The rooms are wonderful, cozy and spacious. They even fold the towels all fancy on the bed everyday! I would definitely recommend this place if you are visiting Arenal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dish1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was pretty fun rubbing it in people's faces how much we paid for this hostel resort compared to their crazy expensive resort or hotel, lol. This place was a beautiful hostel and a great deal!! We loved the whole communal area. It has a nice pool with a swim up bar, good food, nice beds, a/c in the dorm, great wifi, and incredibly helpful staff!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying at Arenal Hostel resort. My room was very spacious with two separate beds and an AC. Each room has a private bathroom and shower. They also provide towels, which was a nice addition. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snooz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have now stayed at this hostel for 2 trips to La Fortuna and you can't find a better deal. There's always great people to meet, and the location is perfect, I love the pool and the hammocks, the rooms are comfortable. The hostel staff is amazing, helping me book multiple activities, and transportation to Tamarindo - very patient always answering all of my endless questions. The bartender Roberto is super friendly, making it feel like you've known him forever and making everyone comfortable. The only problem i had while there, was no hot water :( However, I would (and have) recommended this hostel to people going to this area. Also, the pancakes are good!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was definitely one of the nicer hostels I stayed in. I got upgraded to a room with 2 separate beds which was nice from the get go. My room was spacious with a balcony and rocking chairs too. It faced the road so you definitely got a lot of road noise which might be problematic for light sleepers. The staff was very friendly and helpful, had all the answers to my many questions. Only negatives were didn't always have hot water and the trash hadn't been taken out when we checked in. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road can get loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is located in the middle of everything, the staff are fantastic and very helpful. Roberto's drinks were delicious. This place was more of a resort than a hostel. The showers do not have the best water pressure but other than that its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllisonRBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,371 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,511 reviews
16.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Address: Sobre Carretera Principal #142 | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $16 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing