We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying at Arenal Hostel resort. My room was very spacious with two separate beds and an AC. Each room has a private bathroom and shower. They also provide towels, which was a nice addition. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snooz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Arenal Hostel Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 642 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have now stayed at this hostel for 2 trips to La Fortuna and you can't find a better deal. There's always great people to meet, and the location is perfect, I love the pool and the hammocks, the rooms are comfortable. The hostel staff is amazing, helping me book multiple activities, and transportation to Tamarindo - very patient always answering all of my endless questions. The bartender Roberto is super friendly, making it feel like you've known him forever and making everyone comfortable. The only problem i had while there, was no hot water :( However, I would (and have) recommended this hostel to people going to this area. Also, the pancakes are good!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was definitely one of the nicer hostels I stayed in. I got upgraded to a room with 2 separate beds which was nice from the get go. My room was spacious with a balcony and rocking chairs too. It faced the road so you definitely got a lot of road noise which might be problematic for light sleepers. The staff was very friendly and helpful, had all the answers to my many questions. Only negatives were didn't always have hot water and the trash hadn't been taken out when we checked in. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road can get loud!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is located in the middle of everything, the staff are fantastic and very helpful. Roberto's drinks were delicious. This place was more of a resort than a hostel. The showers do not have the best water pressure but other than that its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllisonRBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recently stayed at the resort, I was pleasantly surprised when we landed there it was beyond what we expected. The bar was excellent, lots of fun with a great atmosphere, always good music playing at the bar, pool is small but tons of fun, Bartender Roberto is the best, and Tyler was helpful with explaining the tours and telling us about some hidden gems... The rooms are clean and bigger then expected, but the one we stayed in was right on the street which makes for very noisy mornings.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajd1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Awesome Hostel! Tyler is a great host, the ladies at the front desk are super helpful and bartender is really nice. We met great people and enjoyed the ambiance. Clean, relaxing, affordable and right in town. I recommend white water rafting.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank EvS_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a good time at this hostel! We stayed for 4 nights in the 6 beds dorm and had a blast. Jennifer is such a good host, she is the one who made us feel extremly welcome, the best ''Receptionist'' Ive seen in all the trips I made! Friendly, enthousiastic, helpful!
We loved the grounds, the view of the volcano and the hammocks! Very close to the supermarket and POPS. The welcome drink was good too.

Bad points: No hot water in the shower, the A/C was not working and the room was humid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,532 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,473 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,933 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Address: Sobre Carretera Principal #142 | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $17 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing