We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the middle of everything...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recently stayed at the resort, I was pleasantly surprised when we landed there it was beyond what we expected. The bar was excellent, lots of fun with a great atmosphere, always good music playing at the bar, pool is small but tons of fun, Bartender Roberto is the best, and Tyler was helpful with explaining the tours and telling us about some hidden gems... The rooms are clean and bigger then expected, but the one we stayed in was right on the street which makes for very noisy mornings.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajd1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 665 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Awesome Hostel! Tyler is a great host, the ladies at the front desk are super helpful and bartender is really nice. We met great people and enjoyed the ambiance. Clean, relaxing, affordable and right in town. I recommend white water rafting.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank EvS_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a good time at this hostel! We stayed for 4 nights in the 6 beds dorm and had a blast. Jennifer is such a good host, she is the one who made us feel extremly welcome, the best ''Receptionist'' Ive seen in all the trips I made! Friendly, enthousiastic, helpful!
We loved the grounds, the view of the volcano and the hammocks! Very close to the supermarket and POPS. The welcome drink was good too.

Bad points: No hot water in the shower, the A/C was not working and the room was humid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I recently stayed in a private room at Arenal Hostal Resort with my girlfriend. It surpassed my expectations.

Service: Unexpected and excellent. Recently hired Tyler made our adventure planning easy and hassle free. I was a bit skeptical since he was only pushing his trip options but he was honest when I ask him questions and I was never disappointed. Our ATVing was better then other peoples tours. The spa was just a great value and a relaxing way to spend an afternoon/evening (35 for access to 25 springs and dinner). And white water rafting was unbelievable. 100% do white water rafting with the hostel. You will not regret it.

Rooms: great for a hostel: clean and spacious. Hot water was an issue but for the price of the room I will not even begin to complain.

Food: 6$ breakfast is great heavy costan rican breakfast. BBQ for dinner was worth the $10 as well.

La fortuna as a great little town and this hostel is dead smack in the middle of it. Best hostel i've stayed at and made arenal easy, fun and cheap!

Room Tip: White Water rafting is amazing. The actual rafting aspect is intense but a lot of fun but what makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in june 2012.
The room was good only a bit noisy due to thin walls but we didn't mind it.
The bar and pool are a good meeting point and at night they bring up some games for fun.

If information is needed you can get everything you want and even more. Some of the workers told us a place with hot spring for free. ( hot river)

It has everything you need to relax and Explore.

Price/kwaliti is good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David-MT-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and I was able to have one hot shower when I first arrived, but after that it was stone cold everytime I turned on the tap so I couldn't shower as it was awful.

This place is more of a hotel than a hostel and the atmosphere isn't that great.

Make sure you book your tours with agents out on the street as you can get them for much cheaper. You can even get the Baldi hot springs for cheaper, $30.

The kitchen isn't that well equipped, they had one bowl to eat out of.

Pretty disappointing overall.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelonTrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

+ the staff was very helpful, nice people, great service.
We had a problem and they did everything they could to please us.
+Great garden, a lot of places to hang.
+ best location, especially if you don't rent a car.
+ nice clean rooms, including the dorms.
+- there is a bar- restaurant in the middle of the hostel. Comfortable, good food in reasonble prices. But- it could be a bit noisy in the mornnings and at night (they close at 10:00 pm).
*in general, compare the activities you want to do with the agancies in town. You can get much lower prices with a little effort.
The rafting is recomended!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,614 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,085 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#24 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
879 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#9 of 81 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Address: Sobre Carretera Principal # 142 | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $25 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing