We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We walked in without a reservation and ended up staying for 4 nights! The location is great! Jesse the manager was really accomodating and what about the pool/bar! Would definitvly recommand it to all travelers going to La fortuna!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emylie1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Arenal Hostel Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 642 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you want to stay a few nights in Arenal this place is perfect. It isn't too expensive (40 dollars) very secured, and you get a swimming pool and a cokctail for free! They also have a parking and you will find restaurant all around. Nice place, clean and people are very nice, do not hesitate!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabienne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Quaint with lots of rooms. There were some families staying there but also travelers from everywhere. Really a relaxing environment with a pool and a few hammocks. The staff was very friendly and offered lots of trips and ideas. They gave us "Welcome Drinks" which were very much appreciated after our long trip from the airport. La Fortuna is cool but there is not much to do outside of the hotel besides the national parks and springs. You're going to want a nice hostel to relax in between adventures and this is it.

Also, if you're going to Monteverde, ask about the Jeep to Boat to Jeep trip. It's the only way you should go, trust me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice hostel with a cool common area to hang out.
We did have a less pleasant start as we were checked in to a room right in front of the bar which was very noisy all afternoon and evening, furthermore the room had a very moisty smell and the air con made a lot of noise too. We talked to the front desk about this and they were very nice and changed us to a better room - and that made our stay! Completely different room, much lighter, clean + a nice view.
Jesse, the manager + the rest of the staff were very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: If you will be spending some time in the room, ask for it to be away from the bar. Room 116 was very...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thecoffeeshop85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hostel was very accommodating. The owner was welcoming, bought us a drink and sat down with us right off of the bus. Staying in the dorms wasn't bad; a private bathroom per dorm was nice (although a little difficult in the morning when someone hogged it!). Restaurant and kitchen facilities were nice, and the bar was the right price. The tours they offer are a little expensive, but the one I did spring for was excellent. Dorm price was a little expensive, and I wasn't pleased with having to pay for the night that I missed after I had been ripped off by a cabbie in San Jose, but I understand the business necessity. Nice place to stay right in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Bothe Jesse and Jennifer were amazing hoats. So nice and accommodating, helped us plan every detail of our stay in La Fortuna as well as transportation to and from the city.

We stayed in a 6 person dorm, it was small but clean. The courtyard is gorgeous with a good bar, restaurant small pool and plenty of hammocks/sitting area which is in place of a common room.

The location was great, right in the middle of the main street.

It is also very safe with a locked gate, and you feel Jesse really takes care of you.

Overall a great hostel

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwanderlust3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great view, great service, the owner is extremely friendly, you get a free welcome drink, the rooms are very clean and quite spacious, the bathrooms are also very clean great shower! It's in the town in the middle of everything, easy to find. We stayed in a private and we had our own terrace, tv and air conditioning for a very great deal. I could not say any dislike about this place, it was simply great.

Room Tip: Share a private they are awesome
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roms1786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,531 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Address: Sobre Carretera Principal #142 | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $17 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing