We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone must try” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alberto's Horses

Alberto's Horses
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have a tour at 8:30 in the morning or at 1:30 in the afternoon. We have the tour to La Fortuna waterfall. The tour consists of a one hour ride through pastures and farmland. Then we venture into the jungle were we cross a river and proceed up the mountain to the waterfall Rio Fortuna. There you may swim for approximately one hour after we return down the mountain to our farm. The tour is around 3 or 4 hours. You are going to need long pants, good shoes, a bathing suit and towel, along with anything else you feel necessary. At the end of the tour we will be at our house waiting with a delicious organic chicken barbecue with natural juice $80 per person.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Everyone must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

At first I thought this was a great idea. Then I got on the horse and saw the first river bank and felt scared. The guide was great and never left our side.

The dog guides kept us entertained and on pace

By the end I did not want to give up my horse

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janner519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    25
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't get talked out of this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was well spent time and money. It's about a 5 minute walk from la fortuna bus station. No need for a cab. Alberto is great, huge personality and speaks English very well. It's a family ran business, so it's nice knowing no one sent you there for there commission. Alberto even invited us to stay for dinner. The whole tour was around 4 hours, the waterfall he takes you to is spectacular.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bwo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickasha, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our new friend Alberto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Alberto was a friend of Jorge, our friend from Grecia, that we were with. When we were introduced to Alberto and his family, we were instantly considered friends. Alberto helped us look at properties and houses to buy/rent when we move. We had lunch at their restaurant. It is worth the trip just to eat with them and enjoy their home cooked meals. Buenos amigos, buena comida, buenos momentos.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Floyd O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Professional, Well Done, Free Photos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Alberto's horses could take you there on their own from knowing the route so well. We took the ride with two four year old girls and although it was long they LOVED it. The ride is wonderful will the horses going at a walk, trot, and rarely if you prod them into a canter. Alberto surprised us with one thing that we did not know was included in the trip: free digital photos. He posted 21 photos of our trip on Facebook that we could download. If you like photos, then simply ask him to take more and he happily would!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

iof you are going to ride horse you must go to alberto, he has the best horses and good price. he is the best in costa rica

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobbyveee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's Horses also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Alberto's Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing