We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy trails”
Review of Alberto's Horses

Alberto's Horses
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have a tour at 8:30 in the morning or at 1:30 in the afternoon. We have the tour to La Fortuna waterfall. The tour consists of a one hour ride through pastures and farmland. Then we venture into the jungle were we cross a river and proceed up the mountain to the waterfall Rio Fortuna. There you may swim for approximately one hour after we return down the mountain to our farm. The tour is around 3 or 4 hours. You are going to need long pants, good shoes, a bathing suit and towel, along with anything else you feel necessary. At the end of the tour we will be at our house waiting with a delicious organic chicken barbecue with natural juice $80 per person.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“happy trails”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had a great ride with Alberto through verdant fields and then some stream crossing. The horses are beautiful. You can go at your pace. The waterfall at the end was spectacular. Bring swim trunks if you want to go for a swim.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris4418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    25
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Alberto's Horses is a small, family-run business, but certainly very well-run and professional. The location is not exactly in the center of town, but not hard to find if you follow their directions. We took a tour to the waterfalls via horseback and it was a pleasure to have Alberto himself be our guide. Their horses are all very well-cared for and trained. Overall, this was probably the highlight and most memorable part of our Costa Rica trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maxima81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MN
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been on lots of tourist horseback riding tours but this was the only one where the horses do their own thing which made for a very exciting trip. We did lots of trotting and cantoring -which for a very novice horseback rider was very unexpected. No one fell off and it was a lot of fun but I would not be able to handle more than a couple of hours of the bouncing. They had a helmet for my daughter and let her manage her own horse which she did just fine, even though she is a petite 9 year old. This was good for me because I tend to be an over protective mom and I was conentrating on staying on my own horse I did not have time to worry over my daughter. I know the guide was keeping a good eye on her for me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip! Only use Alberto's Horses.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Don't waste your time with any other company but Alberto! He speaks excellent English and his horses are perfect. The scenery is breathtaking and even in the rain, the trip was fabulous. There was another horse tour company that arrived the same time we did and they were told they only had 45 minutes to view the waterfall. Alberto told us it was our day and to take as much time as we needed. He was wonderful. The waterfall was beautiful, water was very cold, but wasn't too bad once you got in. Prepare yourself for the trip back up the stairs leaving the waterfall, it's a workout for sure! Don't miss this in La Fortuna. Use Alberto's Horses for your tour!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Alberto is a great guide he is very knowledgable about the area and his horses are well trained. We rode the horses to the La, Fortuna waterfall which was nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's Horses also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Alberto's Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing