We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Clean, beautiful landscaping and friendly staff.”
Review of Eco Arenal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eco Arenal Hotel
Reviewed August 11, 2013

"Nice place, very clean and very friendly staff. The breakfast was buffet and really good!! Hot water, A/C and comfortable clean beds. The front dest manager was always helpful and the staff at the place very service oriented. We had a nice view of the Volcano and that was great! Perfect if you want to go in family or as a couple. Free wi-fi,very quite, peaceful and close to the center of the city. You get more than what you pay for." Cris Kundert

Room Tip: need a car!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criceida k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Eco Arenal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one week with our toddler. She was thrilled with the small pool, perfect for her size. The water is absolutely perfect. The garden at the back is beautiful and calm. A real invitation to contemplation. The service is perfect: housekeepers and reception staff are amazing. They are helpful, very kind and know very well the area. Perfect stay in La Fortuna !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yambarare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were a group of fourteen students and two teachers on a service trip to Costa Rica combining fun, adventure, studying flora and fauna, and working with children. Villas Eco Arenal took great care of us from the moment we arrived. The manager and staff were kind, caring, and made sure we had everything we needed. There were many attentions to details such as flower petals on our bed when we arrived, delicious meals with fresh fruits, and vegetables, served buffet style. The cook and wait staff seemed to really take pride in what they served, and I felt as though we were a guest in a friend's gracious home. The grounds are well taken care of, as is the lovely pool which has a beautiful view of the volcano. The property is quiet and calm, and in the morning we went to the river in back of the rooms. We even found an owl when we went for a walk at dusk. It is obvious that the people who run the hotel, and the staff care so much. I give Eco Arenal the highest of ratings and hope to return one day soon!

Room Tip: It was very warm when we visited and the air conditioner was great to have. We were near the pool wh...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were travelling with six people and arrived in Arenal after a hot day of travelling. Our rooms were in a single stock building with two rooms at the base and two on the first stock. We let the childeren have the base rooms and we took the top one to experience that there was no water available at all on the first day and only cold water the day after. With no water available two bottles of mineral water were supplied for drinking, toilet and washing.
Any conversation from our next door nabours could be heard load and clear. The windowsills were below knee-level;very dangerous and the tv-set had only one very misty channel. The airco was terribly noisy and at a very wrong place in the room.
We had a lovely holliday in Costa Rica with only this unfortunately experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leendert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived later than expected in the evening but the manager was very understanding and helped us book a wonderful horse riding tour to la fortuna waterfall. Also we arrived in the dark and when we awoke in the morning we had a beautiful view of the volcano!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aligiblets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a very nice place.
It is a really short car drive from the center of La Fortuna.
They treated us very well as they gave us stuff that were not included on our order.

Worth the price.

Enjoy!
Eyal & Chen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a cabin, and although not 'fancy', it was big enough and very clean. The small porch overlooking the gardens was very nice. The grounds are large and have lots of flowers. The rooms didn't have a phone, clock or hairdryer but did have a small TV and a fridge. (If you need a hair dryer, you can get one from the reception). Breakfast is included -- serves hot food. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's in a very quiet setting. Only 2 kms to town. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd stay in a cabin -- the price is very reasonable.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
9.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
828 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#27 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#34 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Arenal Hotel

Address: | 2 km north from Banco Nacional, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $74 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Arenal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Eco Arenal is a mountain Eco hotel, designed especially for rest. It is 2 miles north of Fortune and you reach it by a stone road. It has satellite TV with 5 channels. The emphasis is on their facilities and green areas close to nature as can be seen many types of birds, sloths, frogs and a huge amount of types of flowers and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Eco Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing