We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of old Costa Rican relaxation”
Review of Eco Arenal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eco Arenal Hotel
South Pasadena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A touch of old Costa Rican relaxation”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The Eco Arenal Villas is the perfect destination location for those that want to get away from the crowd and enjoy peace & quiet. While close to town, a $4 cab ride, the 1.5 km dirt road truly separates you from downtown. This "old school" resort is a welcome change from the modern, "Disneyland--like" resorts along the main road. The delicious Tipico Costa Rican breakfast is fresh & tasty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarencewong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    74
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
45
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
284 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We had some trouble finding the place (put a sign in the village) but when we arrived we were surprised about the accomodation!
Nice, clean villa's in a beautiful garden, clean swimmingpool and a small jungletrail in the back of the garden. We were a bit alarmed by the review of mr. Vivrette but he obviously stayed somewhere else, because the villa's are very clean, nothing is worndown or rusty!
THE only comment is that the place lies 1.5 mile outside the village on an unpaved road so you have to drive downtown for dinner and drinks! Thanks to the friendly staff!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teriben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I was traveling through Costa Rica and we ended up in Arenal. When we first rolled up to Eco Villas Arenal, the first thing i noticed was the obvious beauty of the landscape, filled with lime and palm trees, and a clear view of the breathtaking Arenal Volcano. Behind this façade, however, lies a row of dingy, poorly lit, dirty villas. The room that we stayed in, which, surprisingly, included a kitchenette, was the biggest let down of the whole week in Costa Rica. I put my bag down next to the bed, and came back from the bathroom and a palmetto bug (cockroach) seemed to be sniffing it. The sheets were probably about thread count 3 and the room had barely any lighting at all. However, This room did serve its purpose, as we, and i hope you will, spent as much time doing things out of the room as possible, and only used the room for sleep (not four lounging in).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AKNYC97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

These Villas are fantastic. There is heaps of wildlife within the beautiful grounds including two large owls, sloths, squirrels, frogs (including the blue Jean frog), hummingbirds, herons and many more. The rooms are relatively spacious and the showers are hot. Breakfasts tended to be scrambled eggs, ham, rice and beans and bread. The coffee was pretty good. Be warned that these villas are just outside town so you will need transport to and from town but the taxi only costs about 2000 C each way. The beautifil wildlife and pool makes up for that. All in all, a very pleasant visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieposie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel itself is actually outside of downtown down a dirt road. But once you drive on to the grounds it is very appealing and secluded. Actually we preferred this because the town was a little loud and rowdy for our tastes.

The staff was very friendly and helpful in arranging our tours and activities in the area. The room itself was a little basic but clean. If your'e looking for big screen TVs or phones maybe look somewhere else. We were content to sit on the porch of our room and watch the thunderstorms and listen to the sounds of the jungle instead!

The included breakfast on a covered outdoor patio was good but I had to fight the wasps to get to the pancake syrup! The food was tasty though and I never became ill so it was well prepared.

When we return we will stay again and will heartily recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica_VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemead, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I was just there last week with my six and 12 year old. The hotel is about one mile from La Fortuna on an unpaved road. Very quiet abd tranquil setting. The front office greeted us with genuine enthusiasm and warmth. She was very helpful and just a joy. The security guard on duty from sun down to sun up was very kind. We met him our first evening as we were swimming in the pool. He helped us identify some of the nocturnal animals and went out of his way to catch some cicadas, point out some fireflies and toads. HE told us where we could find iguanas.
I am a single mom with two kids and I felt very safe.

The rooms were very clean, immaculate. The rooms were comfy. The breakfast was served in the garden patio and the staff was also very friendly while serving us.

I look forward to coming badk soon.

Room Tip: Small enough that all rooms are good, facing poo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkzapopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in February 2011 and enjoyed every minute of our time at the hotel. The staff, Henry and Aimy, speak excellent English and were extremely helpful and knowledgable about the area. The hotel located 5 minutes ride outside the town is quiet, has beautiful grounds with a pool, soccer area, basketball court and the reasonable rate includes breakfast. Henry had lots of suggestions re touring the country and the area and would call us a cab with a driver who spoke English which was great. Highly recommend and would stay there again.
Elaine and Richard, Canada

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
280 reviews
9.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,197 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
172 reviews
11.2 mi away
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Tilajari Hotel Resort
#27 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Arenal Hotel

Property: Eco Arenal Hotel
Address: | 2 km north from Banco Nacional, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Arenal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Eco Arenal is a mountain Eco hotel, designed especially for rest. It is 2 miles north of Fortune and you reach it by a stone road. It has satellite TV with 5 channels. The emphasis is on their facilities and green areas close to nature as can be seen many types of birds, sloths, frogs and a huge amount of types of flowers and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eco Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing