We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty”
Review of Benedictus Steak House - CLOSED

Benedictus Steak House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Benedictus is located in a volcano slope with a unique view of the valley o La Palma de la Fortuna and Monterrey.The restaurant its a beautiful wood building surrounded by pasture land and primary forest overlooking the valley.The lamb, cattle, pork and chicken we serve are breaded free range in the farm and we bring the vegetables from Tapezco a little town two hours away from Fortuna, where Mr. Juan Jose Paniagua, a Pioner in the organic agriculture in Costa Rica, produce the best organic vegetables. We are 800 metros away of the main road that link La Fortuna with the Arenal Lake. The gate its just in Front of the Volcano Lodge Hotel.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Great service, nice wine, tasty food.

We ate the ceviche (local fish) and it was excellent. The homemade bread and chimmichuri were delicious. We also had the mixed grill for 2 which was very good. The chicken was the highlight. The steak was a bit over cooked. The organic vegetables were delicious and cooked perfectly. The dessert brownie was a bit disappointing.

Overall very good and we would recommend it. It wasn't cheap but it was worth it.

It is a located about 800m off the main road. Most people drive or catch a taxi. We walked there (through the farm) which was fine - just take a torch if you're there after dark.

Helpful?
Thank scn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    115
    41
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Nice Views, OK Service”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We selected this restaurant based on other trip advisor reviews and a recommendation from our driver who brought us into town. Overall the restaurant didn't disappoint, the food was good and in particular the ceviche was a surprising standout. This is a small restaurant and the night we dined there was a particularly large party (maybe 15 people/kids) which may have contributed to the slower / inattentive service we received. Overall, the food was good so we recommend giving it a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexgrl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“overpriced, but great location and nice ambience”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

this place great great reviews on trip advisor. We thought it was overrated.

To get there you drive half a mile straight up the hill from the road halfway between law fortuna and Arenal. It's not the easiest access as the driveway has some very steep grades when you get there, the restaurant itself is a charming chalet style building overlooking the entire valley. It faces away from the volcano so you do not have a view of the mountain, but you do have a spectacular view. The kitchen is in an outbuilding about 100 feet from the restaurant the restaurant only has six or eight tables

We had the fish ceviche and the fish soup, both of which were good. Their "Best" Steak was okay, nothing special, a little tough. The two of us who are vegetarians did not fair so well. My wife had the vegetarian casado, which was white rice, a few black beans and some grilled veggies, nothing special. My son tried the fettucine alfredo, which was served, without any notice, filled with ham. we sent it back for an order without ham, and they were nice about it, but his meal was delayed 15 minutes. The dish itself was some noodles swimming in a sort of cheesy soup. The complimentary garlic toast for the table was unusual, darker bread, sort of sweet. it got mixed reviews at our table

their Tres Leches cake, a costa rican specialty, was average at best. their homemade lemonade was very good. service was slow, but they were full and they had a large outside private party that nite so it was probably worse than usual.

we hade two entres, two appetizers, one glass of middling chilean wine, the above mentioned veggie dishes, and one piece of cake. no coffee. total was 130,000 colones, over $250, for an average meal at best. My usual rule, which i failed to follow due to the aforementioned tripadvisor reviews, is that food quality and price is usually inversely proportional to the view. In this case, I should have followed the rule and gone somewhere else.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank peterfenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Panoramic Views”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great place for lunch to enjoy the panoramic views. Across from Volcano Lodge. We had the casado which came with a beautiful piece of meat - we had both the chicken and steak. Fabulous service. Suggest coming during daylight hours to see the views and the goats along the path. One of our favorite meals in Arenal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whartongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Meatgasm!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

If you brave the extremely steep road to get up here, you won't disappointed. We showed up quite early for dinner (a little after 5 p.m.), but it afforded us the chance to see the amazing panorama from their porch. And the food simply can't be beat. We ordered the combination platter, with four different kinds of meat (beef, chicken, lamb, pork). It was all excellent quality and cooked to perfection. Grilled side veggies were good, too. The service was very friendly and accommodating. Prices are quite reasonable considering the quality of the cuisine. The house is beautiful as well, more like an Aspen ski chalet than most of the dwellings in Costa Rica. Best meal we had on our vacation!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Branden55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benedictus Steak House also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing