We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant, excellent view, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Benedictus Steak House - CLOSED

Benedictus Steak House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Central American, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Benedictus is located in a volcano slope with a unique view of the valley o La Palma de la Fortuna and Monterrey.The restaurant its a beautiful wood building surrounded by pasture land and primary forest overlooking the valley.The lamb, cattle, pork and chicken we serve are breaded free range in the farm and we bring the vegetables from Tapezco a little town two hours away from Fortuna, where Mr. Juan Jose Paniagua, a Pioner in the organic agriculture in Costa Rica, produce the best organic vegetables. We are 800 metros away of the main road that link La Fortuna with the Arenal Lake. The gate its just in Front of the Volcano Lodge Hotel.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, excellent view, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Would return in a heartbeat. 4*4 not necessary, but high clearance vehicle would be recommended. Very small restaurant that is a beautiful old house. Food is 5 stars, and Oscar our server was so friendly ! Great value for an excellent organic and locally grown steak ! Go for sunset :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    115
    41
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I have reached the mountain top....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Everything written about the rough and bumpy climb to reach this restaurant is true. It was a deceptively long and windy mile from the main road in La Fortuna . If we were to come again we will come in the day so we can see the view of the valey below. Our host and owner was gracious. Our meals were delicious - I had the lamb which was a bit tough; my husband's steak was fine. We especially love the ambience of having dinner in a chalet-like home on top of its own mountain. Lot of organic and home grown veg and free range chicken on grounds.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place with fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The road is not that bad. After reading reviews about how step the road up is. Don't let that stop you from going it is totally do able.
I had steak and it was great. Hubby had lamb which would have been great if there was meat on the bones. There was three rib bones on the plate which looked like a great portion but there was hardly any meat. Daughter had a hamburger which was great and other daughter had the pasta which she loved but i tasted and thought was not good.
I would still recommend this place for service fresh food and location with view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowiebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Excellent all around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Best service we experienced in all of Costa Rica. Server was extremely humble and attentive. The interior is a cozy cabin. The food was beyond excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brianca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Dinner in La Fortuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We chose this restaurant after reading the reviews here and were so glad we went. This restaurant was originally built as a home and then converted to a restaurant later. Because it was a home, that is the feeling you have when you dine there. It is small and intimate and very special. There are only five or 6 tables total, so make a reservation. We ordered steak, my husband the bacon wrapped and I one with peppercorn sauce. My children all ordered carbonara pasta. All of the food was delicious but we will all be dreaming about that bacon wrapped steak for years to come. Being from LA, we've eaten at some amazing steak houses, but this was far and away one of the best steaks I have ever had. Probably because the beef is grass fed and super fresh. Don't worry about the drive, it's not a big deal. If possible go before it gets dark to enjoy the view. Have a wonderful time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank india0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benedictus Steak House also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing