We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The word must be getting out ...”
Review of Benedictus Steak House - CLOSED

Benedictus Steak House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Benedictus is located in a volcano slope with a unique view of the valley o La Palma de la Fortuna and Monterrey.The restaurant its a beautiful wood building surrounded by pasture land and primary forest overlooking the valley.The lamb, cattle, pork and chicken we serve are breaded free range in the farm and we bring the vegetables from Tapezco a little town two hours away from Fortuna, where Mr. Juan Jose Paniagua, a Pioner in the organic agriculture in Costa Rica, produce the best organic vegetables. We are 800 metros away of the main road that link La Fortuna with the Arenal Lake. The gate its just in Front of the Volcano Lodge Hotel.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The word must be getting out ...”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We decided to check out Benedictu's based on reviews here plus the convenience of the restaurant being practically across the highway from Nayara where we were staying.
When we arrived (7:30ish?) the waiter apologized that the only table left was the one there by the entrance and not in the main dining room, but we accepted. Before we ordered, yet another family arrived. The owner then came and asked if we would mind waiting a few minutes for a better table instead, and brought us to the balcony while we waited; this freed up the table by the entrance for the larger family. The place must have an incredible view in the daylight, based on the lights we could see from the balcony.
Our daughter and I shared the chicken with blackberry sauce (we'd had a big/late lunch), my husband had the steak with pepper sauce, and our 5 yr old had a ham & cheese sandwich. Everything was very good, though I think the blackberry sauce would have been even better on steak (and I got the impression they would have made that for me if I had asked). My husband's steak was great, probably the best quality of meat he had in all of our stay in Costa Rica. Our son's sandwich was huge and served on French-style rolls, unlike the other "emparedados" we'd gotten at other restaurants.
Service was slow but friendly. The one waiter had trouble keeping up and remembering everything on the first trip ... He apologized for the wait and explained that this was the biggest crowd they'd ever had, and they really weren't expecting it especially being low season.
They offered free dessert to compensate for everything, but we were satisfied without it; we may have taken them up on it if it weren't so late and we didn't have plans early the next morning.
Our bill came to about $60, though would have been more if we had opted for a bottle of wine (selection ranged from about $20 - $100).
I would recommend Benedictu's, but I would also recommend making reservations (if they take them)!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kag2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    115
    41
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Quality”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wonderful meal and service overlooking the best of arenal. Soothing music and Jose is the best server ever. No matter what you order it will taste fresh and like it was made with love.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oksanacecile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From the Farm to the Table, A Unique Culinary Experience!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Following the advices of my fellow trip advisor reviewers, we ventured to Benedictus Steak House. The new location is located between Tabacon Hotel and the town of Fortuna, there is a small sign by the entrance. The drive up to the restaurant is pretty unique! We were greeted by Jose, very friendly waiter. The restaurant is located on a farm land where the owners raise cows, pigs, chickens… All the meat comes from their land. Even the tap water is totally pure and comes from their well! The amuse-bouche is a tomato mozzarella made on site with the milk from their cows. Where else can you have such exquisite food for $20 per dish? The restaurant is in fact an old chalet style house overlooking a gorgeous scenery. The filet mignon is to die for, served with a very nice mushroom sauce. The steak with pepper sauce is great. The portions are huge so we were happy we didn't order a first course… This was the best culinary experience from our trip. It's nice to actually know where the food you eat really comes from once in a while!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret of the Arenal Volcano Area! Romantic, Beautiful, and Delicious.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had driven past Benedictu's several times on our way to and from The Lost Iguana Resort. Finally on our last night, we decided to try it out. The drive from the main road takes a few minutes, we weren't sure what we were going to find. When we got there it was absolutely beautiful. The chef heard our car pull up and came out to greet us like old friends and he led us into the private restaurant. Seating choices were inside in the dining room with high ceilings and large windows or outside on the balcony. Seated on the balcony at dusk made for a perfect atmosphere, high up on a hill you can see out beyond the town below. The chef took our dinner order himself and talked of his passion for cooking. The menu was extensive, and the meal was delicious, and portions were large. We were very glad we had a fridge in our room back at our room so we could take our leftovers home. Highly recommended for couples! We shared the balcony with just one other couple, making for a nice private dinner, and two new friends.
Exquisito!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggys_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent but new location”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

No longer at the hotel. It is across the street Ina much better location. Benedicto treats you like family and serves up the best food in la fortuna. The view is incredible and the food is delicious and organic. Try the blackberry fruit juice.

Helpful?
Thank Carney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benedictus Steak House also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing