We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Garra-Pata

Restaurante Garra-Pata
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, South American, Central American, Costa Rican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Down home Costa Rican cooking at its best. A Paradise for meat lovers but also features finger Licking good seafood récipes. We smoke our own ribs every day and make our own blacberry salad dressing.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“excelent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

In my opinion the best place near the Fortuna to eat
while its not a luxe place its cheap and the quality of the food is simply awesome
people there are very friendly and locals of the area

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    14
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Alberto was not wrong. Hi Israel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went here after Alberto of the Alberto Horse Riding tour said to go there. He was not wrong. I had shrimp/tenderloin with plaintains. My wife had a mango tilapia and my kids had arroz con pollo. The smoothies were great, beer cold and Israel took care of us and joked with the kids. He also gave my youngest son a horseshoe as a souvenir. Go here....its ride outside down behind the Pali grocery store on the east side of La Fortuna.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“not the best chifrijo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I went to this place only because someone told me the chifrijo was amazing. The chifrijo wasnt amazing, it was just okay. Service was okay and location its not the best. i dont know if ill come back to this place

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dscr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Decnt Tico food in La Fortuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

La Garrapata - don't be put off by the name! We were recommended the place by a local and although not plush, it is genuine and most importantly the food is good, well priced like the beer and the people friendly. What more can you ask?

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffwellard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our best meal of the entire trip, hands down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

After a hike at the volcano, we asked our local guide for a restaurant recommendation. Something off the beaten path, something authentic, something well priced, something local. He steered us to Soda Garrapata, and MAN this was exactly what we were looking for!
On the outskirts of La Fortuna, down a side road, a room fenced in with chain link attached to a house - this 10 tables and a bar was as authentic as it gets. Garrapata (the guy who runs the place) was extremely hospitable, extremely friendly and accommodating and the food was seriously the best of our trip!
I know that a lot of travelers look for restaurants that feel a little familiar and a lot of restaurants cater to tourist taste. If you're willing to step out a bit, THIS place is the real deal and the food was awesome!

The $11 per person (that doesn't include tax, drinks or tip) does include the price of an appetizer.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ekawika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Garra-Pata also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Restaurante Garra-Pata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing