We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
36
3
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
36
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar cane tortillas open hearth traditional country costa rican life arenal volcano oxen farm moonshine tour birds guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2016 via mobile

Our tour guide, Koren Vela Vela, took us to Casona first for a excellent typical Costa Rican breakfast and to watch the birds.

We liked it so much, we asked him to take us back the next day for a late lunch.

Both meals were tasty and the service was friendly and prompt.

The restaurant's covered open air pavilion opens out to a view north to the Arenal Volcano and overlooks the Rio Fortuna. Absolutely beautiful.

They put out ripe bananas/plantains and the birds flock to the feast. All within a few feet of the restaurant.

Also on our second day, they demonstrated how they were trying to make their own brown sugar.

Excellent meals in an unbeatable setting.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ckrenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic experience of old world Costa Rica with Milton and his family and team. Cooking, walking the farm, seeing the local village and a super lunch overlooking the river. Music and a very warm welcome. Would recommend this for someone who wants to see the traditional side as a break from all the adrenaline sports.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TaraPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

Come for the volcano, stay for the farm tour. I loved this place. The owner, Don Antonio, is a true Costa Rican gentleman who has been farming his land for over 30 years. Wearing impeccable rancher's clothes, he showed us around his immaculate farm. We had the MOST DELICIOUS farm-fresh lunch, then got to feed marmosets (tiny adorable monkeys!), see a baby cow, pet pigs, pick star fruit and feed it to the deer, and see oxen hooked up via colorful harness to a traditional sugar cane press, where they turned came into juice. My kids loved this. We sipped the sugary beverage, which tasted particularly good to the adults, after Don Antonio added sugar cane based alcohol. :) We smelled and tasted many plants and herbs and learned their medicinal properties. The farm has a stunning view of the volcano. The warm welcome and opportunity to see authentic Costa Rican campesino life made this one of my favorite stops during a 4-week-long trip with my kids.

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

I feel privileged to have spent the afternoon at Casona Rio Fortuna. We were made to feel welcome immediately, participated in making our own authentic lunch and toured the estate. What struck me most was that this a family that is truly happy; honoring their culture and sharing with others. I was touring Costa Rica with a group of teenagers and I am sure that this was the cultural experience of a lifetime for them

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z8051OSbradb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

I led a group of US students on a science adventure in Costa Rica and we were treated to true Costa Rican culture and hospitality here at La Casona Rio Fortuna. The educational experience our students had was unforgettable. Hats off to Eli and his family for welcoming us and teaching us true Costa Rican culture and way of life. We were able to participate in making our own lunch, played some music, and ate and amazing lunch in the shadow of Arenal Volcano was hands down one of the best experiences we had on this trip and we did A LOT of amazing things. We did not stay here, but enjoyed a few hours of their hospitality.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews