We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casona Rio Fortuna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casona Rio Fortuna
Save
You added Casona Rio Fortuna to your Saves list
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stopped here as part of our Mambo Combo tour package. We had no idea this was to be included and were pleasantly surprised with the experience. We signed up for the Lost Canyon Jungle course and the Arenal Rio Balso River rafting. Desafio (the company who conducted the tours) told us a meal would be provided. They took us to Casona Rio Fortuna to have an authentic Costa Rican meal and we were not disappointed. The hosts: Eli and Milton were very welcoming. The food was delicious (some of the best authentic food we had on our trip) and the view was spectacular. We were shown how they make their own brown sugar and rum. This ended up being the highlight of our day!

Room Tip: We did not stay here. We stopped here for lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMD1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I came to La Casona as part of a traveling group with my family and was thoroughly unimpressed. The food was mediocre, and the entire event seemed forced and only offered a cheap tourist's perspective of Costa Rican culture. To top it off, when we were leaving my husband saw a rat running towards the kitchen. Eww! La Fortuna is such a charming town, I recommend you spend your time there somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

we are a family from Israel (couple and 4 kids). on July 2013 we took a cultural tour in casona Rio Fortuna. we met a charming couple who was eager to explain and show us everything about their lives. we went to a farm and learnd about different local plants and also visited in the school, where qute children performed folklor songs and dances. finally we were serves typical lunch which was very tasty. the experience was extremely enjoing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank zvi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a wonderful place! Milton and Eli were fabulous hosts. We went for the afternoon Cultour experience. The food was AMAZING! Our best meal in Costa Rica. (Make sure you go hungry because the portions are huge and so delicious you want to eat every bite!) Everything from the meal, learning about making sugar, visiting the farm and school were incredible. The school experience was so fun. It was invaluable for a peak at their culture, and our boys just loved interacting with the school kids. The farm had the best pineapple we have ever tasted, and such an interesting variety of plants.

We loved the pace of this tour. Very low-key. We never felt rushed. Stunning setting. Just go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilbsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent the day filming here and what a wonderful experience. Eli and Milton were so welcoming and we had a fun filled day with them. The food is out of this world and I cannot wait to come back to learn more about their culture and way of life. A must do if you are in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moisey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a real gem of a place. I haven't stayed in their rooms but I have eaten here and visited twice now and would definitely go back. I'm certain their rooms are as charming as the rest of their establishment. This is a small family run place that has exceptional food, friendliness and demonstrations of the typical Costa Rican culture. Food is cooked in traditional style and is absolutely delicious. The whole family entertains with beautiful voices and playing guitars with songs of the culture. You can purchase coffee, liquor and other homemade items. The owners Eli and Milton speak English and warmly welcome all their guests. And, they have a beautiful assortment of birds that visit their feeders. You will love this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueBee545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just got back from CR. It was a 10 day trip full of activities- ziplining, jungle/waterfall atv tour, hanging bridges, crocodile river cruise, beach, macaws and Cultour. Amazingly, my kids 13 and 15 y/o girls rate this one as their top CR experience, and said they wouldn't trade it for any other activity. My husband and I agree. I am so glad we did it though it definitely wasn't the priority when planning out our itinerary.

Ellieth and Milton do this tour wonderfully. We got a glimpse of the real costa rican life, visiting a home garden learning many kinds of plants, herbs, fruit trees common to the land, visiting the local elementary school that they support, watching the kids demonstrate a folk dance, learning to make tortilla, and coffee the traditional way, learning about the trapiche and sugar cane processing, lots of delcious food (the best we had in CR), entertainment and more. From when we got there to when they bid us goodbye, they were so hospitable, welcoming and genuinely passionate about sharing this experience with everyone.

We are grateful for the all too short time we got to spend with them and consider ourselves fortunate to have had this opportunity. Highly recommend this tour!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lucyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
6.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#39 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona Rio Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Rio Fortuna

Property: Casona Rio Fortuna
Address: Sonafluca, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 66 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casona Rio Fortuna is a traditional country estate located in the La Fortuna Arenal Volcano area with the aim to let visitors experience the genuine and peaceful way of country life in Costa Rica, surrounded by green pastures, plantations, woodland, tropical gardens and rivers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casona Rio Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing