We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good for the price you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Las Palmas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Las Palmas
BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for the price you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We paid 20$ for a double room in the high season.
The room was fairly clean. the towels- you use your own. there was a TV in the room and hot water in the shower. it's not the place you come to enjoy the hotel- but to go out and travel and save on lodging.
The manager was for me the wick part- he was quite negative- I always felt we bother him, and he wishes all the guests would just disappear..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

El lugar es limpio la gente amable y en una ubicacion excelente frente a un supermercado

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

La fortuna has alot of accomodation options. This motel is not expensive and totally worth it. We took a room for 25$ and we got a basic clean room, normal shower room, towels etc.
The owner Franklin is really a kind man, who can offer you tours for cheap prices. I'm telling you - we compared his prices to other travel agencies and we found that the prices of Franklin are the lowest.
Dont expect too much from the room (the be was abit hard) but for that price its really ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Las Palmas is nicely located - take the street that runs behind the church to south from the main street, walk a block and you'll find it from the right side. The rooms were very clean, and at least some of the second floor rooms (like ours) have an excellent view over the Arenal Volcano. The room was with private bath (hot water) and a fan, and costed $20 US per night. In my understanding the rooms on the first floor are cheaper.

Hotel has WiFi access and a few computers that can be used for free for half an hour, although nobody really seemed to be very interested in how long one uses them. Hotel is also a tour agency that offered many activities cheaper than the ones you find from the central park surroundings. E.g. our volcano trip was not just a car ride to the volcano bridge (that's where many go, and it's quite far from the volcano) but instead a good hike up the hill in the jungle to an observation point.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paavalimuurahainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas la Catarata
Cabinas la Catarata
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Las Palmas

Property: Cabinas Las Palmas
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Las Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Las Palmas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing