We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Natura Ecological Park

Arenal Natura Ecological Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Afternoon Tour to Arenal Observatory Lodge and Natural Hot Springs River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At Arenal Natura Ecological Park you will experience the natural world in a whole new way, where beautiful frogs, birds, reptiles, and their natural habitats will have the starring role. Arenal Natura is a private Biological Station, where we are concerned at the conservation of habitats, as well as reserach and reproduction of amphibians and reptiles, many of these listed as endangered species by CITES. We are located in a section of the tropical rainforest, at the base of the Arenal Volcano, home to a large quantity of species which, with the help of our guides, will give you a new way to view and enjoy these impressive, complex worlds.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Went to the night tour with a friend. The staff was really nice and our tour guides were awesome. They were really knowledgeable and took their time to explain things to us about the animals and their habitat. It was really unique because you dont get this type of 1 on 1 time with guides like this. They really wanted us to learn about the animals there. I really wanted to hold the red eyed tree frog so our guide went out of his way to find me one. Got a great picture but thank you again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hali5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald F, Director de Recepción at Arenal Natura Ecological Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear visitor,

Thank you so much for your visit and comment! Our guides are very knowledable and they are prepare for this and give you a interesting tour. We are glad you liked.

Regards!
Andrés Vargas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    103
    40
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice intro to Costa Rican wildlife”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We found this place while exploring near the Arenal Springs Resort. It is really a small zoo, with exhibits of crocodiles, frogs, and snakes. There are a few short trails to walk around. You are required to go with a guide.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Di2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald F, Director de Recepción at Arenal Natura Ecological Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear visitor,

Thank you so much for your visit and comment. We are glad you saw all the animals we have in our rescue center, many snakes that are threatened for humans, and frogs that not survive at environment near the population. We want to offer you a very informative tour that is why is important go with a guide.

Regards!
Andres Vargas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Bar, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

did the night tour - had a great time!! they were wonderful, held the tour for us because our transport was late...fun running around with flashlights!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gatoestella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald F, Director de Recepción at Arenal Natura Ecological Park, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear visitor,

Thank you sou much for your visit and comment, we are glad you enjoyed it, we always are working to preserve the nature and give you a great natural expirience.
We hope see you soon!

Regards!
Andrés Vargas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Educational walk for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The guide is very knowledgeable and we did see many Red Eyes Tree fogs, ants carrying leaves, crocodiles, alligators and snakes. We also see a sloth in the tree top, too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank petertysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald F, Director de Recepción at Arenal Natura Ecological Park, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your visit and time, it was a pleasure to us, have you in our park, and given us the opportunity to share with your family one of the main atractive of Costa Rica, as the flora and fauna.

Thank you again!
Andrés Vargas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction with excellent guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great wildlife experience. Did the nighttime tour. Got to see animals both inside and outside inside areas. Kept two small children of another family entertained. Great experience all round. Great guide

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chippenhamjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald F, Director de Recepción at Arenal Natura Ecological Park, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear visitor,


Thank you very much for your visit and comments and for choose our night walk, we always try that our tours be very personalized. We are a very happy with your experience at our park.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenal Natura Ecological Park also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Arenal Natura Ecological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing