We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Fortuna Must Eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soda El Rio

Soda El Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Costa Rican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Studio City, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“La Fortuna Must Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

On our drive back from Danaus we stopped for a quick lunch. Great food. Friendly service. Ridiculously cheap price. The wifi is reliable. They do not have a liquor license but allow you to bring in beer from the liquor store next door.

I had the Casada con Carne, better than at my hotel and 1/3 of the price. Clean and authentic restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    44
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed two nights here. The shower was HOT which was a first and only in Costa Rica. We had a delicious huevos rancheros for breakfast. Internet worked best early and late when others weren't using it. I would stay there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaeann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Typical Tico Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was a nice place to experience a typical Costa Rican meal. The waitress was friendly and the food was cheap and delicious. I would love to have visited some of the other Sodas in the area as well. Definitely a great way to experience the local flavor and would recommend to all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

While visiting La Fortuna we had lunch at Soda El Rio! It was a great typical Costa Rican meal for a small price! I highly recommend eating there! Delicious!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Tico food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good quality, Tico traditional food at inexpensive prices. Nice owner, good service, friendly staff. Large portions and a great free sample of rice pudding.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tristensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda El Rio also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda El Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing