We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent find a real gem”
Review of Hotel El Volcan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel El Volcan
Reviewed December 12, 2010

When I got off of the bus from Allajuela we were looking for a hotel in our price range I stumbled onto this hotel. When I went to the front desk the man behind the desk was real friendly and helpful. After he showed me the room I knew that it was the place that I was looking for. The rooms were big with color t.v. air conditioner and it felt real secure. It was walking distance from town about two blocks. He was real accomodating on booking us tours and calling around when I needed information on other activities in the area. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2010

I was traveling with a colleague while in Costa Rica, playing by day and working by night, and Hotel El Volcan was just what we wanted -- an inexpensive, clean, quiet room with a good Internet connection. We ended up working at the table in their covered common area for several hours. Afterwards, we walked to the town square and had great food at a restaurant right on the square. (I can't remember the name of the restaurant, but we ate their twice because we liked it so much.)

During the day we swam and did the rope swing at a local swimming hole and rented dirt bikes to ride around the volcano.

Mauricio, the proprietor, and his staff were very kind and accommodating to us and I'm glad to consider him a friend now. I would definitely return to this hotel if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardkmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Overall a great hotel! The guy at the front desk was super nice and helpful, and the room was clean and spacious. Great location, only two blocks from the center street and plaza, and on a good day you can see the volcano perfectly from the entrance of the hotel. The hotel also offers breakfast of either gallo pinto or cereal and fruit for $2.50, which you can't beat! The only complaint was that the beds were very stiff; I wouldn't say they were uncomfortable but they weren't overly comfortable either. Overall though a great deal with the perfect location, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amolastortugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank RAKKYO_1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guillaume_Anctil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludfreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso Tropical
Hotel Paraiso Tropical
#57 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
9 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
166 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#29 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
158 reviews
0 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Volcan

Address: Norte del parque de la Fortuna San Carlos 150M, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 59 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $38 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Volcan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing