We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place once you get there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Green Lagoon is great place with nice rooms, bar, plus restaurant is great and reasonable for area. I normally don't eat at hotel restaurant but recommend this place. Lodging is good but sinks lacked a drain stopper to protect contact lenses plus the lights are dim due to their ecology kick. Wifi was good in room. The location is not well signed or marked. Do not be intimidated by the road up as it is ok. Their GPS location is Latitude 10 25' 40'' N and longitude 84 40' 12" O, which is helpful for a GPS to search by coordinates instead of address, that basically do not exist in Costa Rica. You drive up a road that becomes dirt to Greenlagoon Falls, about 2 miles off 702 south of La Fortuna,, then at the Falls take the steeper hill road up on a dirt road to the Lodge. Their directions are lacking on the web site. View from lodge is great and near-by area has much to do and again, great place to stay in for the area. Pool is wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smileuwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

GreenLagoon is described by our guest as the heaven on Earth.

Our location is amazing, and we love to see our visitor's faces once they get here!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 244 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Green Lagoon is a nice lodge that is clean and well stocked with any travelers needs. We have noticed that the staff is always doing something not just sitting around. If I needed anything Ithey have provided it. Not the Ritz but thats not what you paid for either. The room is basic but very clean and nice. 1 biggie for me is NO TV. So you better have tablet or laptop to entertain yourself if you are night owl like me. This lodge is very nice. Food is okay and they are changing it up. We had a lovely time. Will stay here agian .

Room Tip: We had room 1. Did not use spa or exercise equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maof7shamong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for this great review about GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge.

You are welcome all the time, amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here through a Groupon that included two other locations in Costa Rica and travel by rental car. Other couples were doing the same circuit, and this was considered the favorite location, which says a lot. The lodging, views, access to outdoor activities, and grounds were all very nice. Staff were especially helpful and wonderful. It is a hotel I strongly recommend and would love to go back to. The site is on the side of a volcano with hearty hiking opportunities. Very minor nit picks were a rough road into the property, chewy steak (common for Costa Rica), sometimes hot - sometimes not but very attractive hot tub, and limited dinner choice. ("Do you want chicken, fish, or steak?") Also, two things worth noting: the trail up to the Green Lagoon rim and especially down to the lagoon is incredibly rugged. Be in shape and expect a workout! We didn't go down to the falls, but we certainly heard about the 400+ steps. Don't avoid these activities. Just realize they are beyond the realm for some tourists, which makes them all the more attractive to me. This is a great place for active, outdoor people. On the other hand, one can just sit by the pool, drink cocktails, and enjoy the beautiful views, or one can do both.

Room Tip: There are only ten rooms, so it probably doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schnick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Someone said about our place that is is all about views, views and views, location, location, location! We can add nature as it's best, and great service. That is what GreenLagoon is all about.

Thank you very much for your review. Please, do not forget that this your your home, and we are your family in Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was a really great place to visit a little bit outside of Arenal this was a great place it have a really cool room set up as well as great staff the breakfast in the morning was amazing.

If you want a little bit of a challenge you can hike up to the green lagoon and just make sure you have some good shoes this place was really fun and the driving into the city was fun as well there's an amazing place called Punto fusion you should definitely check out

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

And you are a wonderful guest!

Thank you very, very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This lodge is an $8 cab ride from town. It is within walking distance of the la fortuna waterfall and the cerro chato trail. For this reason I didn't leave the lodge once during a three night stay to go into town.

My only complaint with this lodge is the confusing lunch and dinner menus. They will act like there isn't a menu and that only one thing can be cooked when on their website there is a large menu.
The food cooked at the hotel is very good though. Carmen is very talented in the kitchen. The waiter is very friendly and attentive. Bryan is helpful at explaining the trail up cerro chato. He also let my husband and I take over as DJs at the bar. He also spoke very good English and taught us a few phrases in Spanish. Manuel in the bar area was very kind and mixed up some good drinks. Danny at the front desk helped us check out early and arrange a taxi pick up at 5am.
There is a great view of la fortuna on a clear day from the lodge. On a clear night the stars are magical. Bryan told us about the google sky map app which made it fun to pick out all of the constellations.
Another complaint is that the hot tub was not hot. I think this may be normal outside the states as in Mexico I also never found a "hot" hot tub.
There are plenty of birds and lizards around the lodge for entertainment. There are horses and cattle in the fields nearby. It was a great stay and I would recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chelseasly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you very much for your review about us.

Everything is going better day after day. We are improving our restaurant's menus, the bar, and all the facilities we offer.

We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this small eco lodge in the Arsenal area rain forest. Great base for hikers, naturalists and adrenalin junkies. Hike up the mountain to a crater lake or down to a remote waterfall. Zip lining and hanging bridge hikes are nearby. Food is great and reasonably priced and there are some good restaurants in La Fortuna. The staff is great. Parts of the road to the hotel are very rough but passable and improvements are apparently coming. Expect to get wet and save on sunscreen! We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

GreenLagoon is changing every day for good, and for you.

Today, we have a great team of naturalist guides ready to show you all the marvels found around our place.

It will be wonderful to have you back soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Four of us (2 couples) stayed in the hilltop unit called "The Villa" at the Green Lagoon. Two nice master suites occupied most of the space, and the eating area for 4 with a galley kitchen was comfortable. We could lay in bed as the sun came up and see flocks of Toucans move among the trees. The small bar at the swimming pool gave us a nice view of the lights of La Fortuna below, along with adult beverages and music. We really enjoyed it and would not hesitate to stay again. We had a "healthy-but-not-reserved" experience in every way.
The investor-manager Jose Mario, Brian the bartender, and Danny at the desk all gave us the best of their attention and care.
A bit of advice: Green Lagoon is and "Eco-Lodge" with access to hiking up the extinct side crater on Arenal (the Green Lagoon). As such it is nice, but please do not expect fancy.
The Villa's kitchen was great for drinks, snacks, etc., but not full-fledged cooking. The road to the Falls and the Accommodations is intermittently paved - one gets used to that in Costa Rica - so don't let that stop you either.
NOTE: This is an outdoor place - no real spa (although massages etc. are available) or fitness room other that what is provided by mother nature.

Room Tip: Green Lagoon offers two outbuildings (one with 2 bedrooms and one with 1 bedroom), and a number of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for your time reviewing us. Your opinion is truly important to GreenLagoon.

We invite you to comeback and try our new Villa (over 400 sq feet) with stunning views and fully equipped for 2 families! This will take your breath away.

Our lodge keeps improving the grounds, rooms and service in order to exceed our guest expectations.

Next time with us, you will enjoy a 1000% great experience in the rainforest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
4.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,996 reviews
7.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,367 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,506 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort

Address: | 300 mts north La Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica (Formerly GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $55 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GreenLagoon: The Choice of Wellbeing. At GreenLagoon, we offer a completely unique experience in the heart of Costa Rica. Our well being resort is ideal for adventure, relaxation and to jump start and support healthy lifestyles. For our founder Dr. Henry Villegas, wellness is a practice in life that is very important to him. Our resort was established to offer well being and sustainability to every single visitor and the communities that surround it. At the heart of GreenLagoon, you'll experience a comfortable environment with unparalleled service. Every person employed at our resort supports our well being mission. What a perfect place to rest your head, eat healthy and relax. Get to know new friends dedicated to serve you, and experience an exhilarating, unmatched collection of nature activities in the adventurous landscape that is Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing