We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I recently stayed here with a friend for three days and it was a great way to start our 2-week trip in Costa Rica. The staff was amazing. Very friendly and did everything they could to ensure we had a comfortable trip. There is a pool and Jacuzzi and stunning views. It is also the trail head to the Cerra Chato hike, which is amazing. I very much recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review abot GreenLagoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    67
    18
    10
    12
See reviews for
51
122
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I were traveling with another couple and after looking around we found a great deal on the Villa @ the GreenLagoon. We had read the reviews so we knew it a was a little out of town and we would most likely need to take cabs to and from town. When we first were on our way up to the hotel you are amazing how high up you end up being.

We quickly checked into the hotel we were shown the way to our Villa. I have to give a warning to some travelers if your got in average or above shape the villa might not be the spot for you. There are a number of steps leading from the main building up to the villa. If you are willing to make the small hike up and down daily it is well worth it. The building is wall to wall windows are offers some of the most amazing views. If you’re a closet exhibitionist perfect. As both bathrooms have full window showers that allow you to enjoy the nature around you. You can choose to also drop the curtains in the shower’s and bathrooms if your not ready 100% comfortable. Overall super comfortable and clean with amazing views.

The service was amazing. You will need to coordinate with the front desk if you would like for them to fill the hot tub or if you plan on eating dinner at the resort.

Breakfast was complimentary and amazing. Costa Rica is known for their coffee but I am not a big coffee drinker. They noticed that right away and I got free hot coo coo every morning with our breakfast feast. Breakfast was always different but usually had traditional beans with either eggs and toast, a banana pancake or if we were lucky a pan fried plantain.

I recommend to anyone who stays here to arrange to have dinner at least once at the resort. Its not a restaurant where you order off a menu. The front desk will ask if you prefer Fish or Beef or whatever is in season. We ate twice and both time were amazing at what we received. Our group didn’t have any picky eaters and the idea of a mystery meal was actually exciting. It was a delicious experience !!

We never got a super sunny day so we never got to see the top of the volcano. The waterfall just down the drive way was AMAZING. The green lagoon also offers a hike to a lake. I didn’t go on this but the other couple we were with did. Both said it was amazing but that could have to do with my buddy bended knee proposal near the top.

Overall it was a great stay. Super friendly and helpful staff. Yes, its slightly out of town but the peaceful surrounding and the view were well worth the cab fare. When in town try for a truck cab it makes the ride up much nicer.

Would stay again !

Room Tip: Villa was great for two couples but you need to be able to do stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We feel so happy knowing that we filled your expectations.
Thank you so much for these inspiring words about our place, we will be always here with arms wide open, waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife and I just came back from our honeymoon and had the time of our lives at Green Lagoon Resort. The service, as all other reviewers said, was superb. We got a 5-star treatment from the two chefs as well as the concierge personell and manager. It is a boutique resort, so our whims and wishes were well catered for at every turn, whether it was food, appointments with different tour places, or any additional services we desired. Make sure to try the "casada "with the tilapia, wrapped in leaf. It's sauteed with garlic and many other herbs, making it a very healthy and tasty meal. My wife's favorite was the sopa de mariscos, a soup filled with different seafood dishes. Enjoy the fresh fruits every morning (along with a very hearty meal for breakfast - it's included!)

We stayed at their honeymoon villa. It had huge windows on every wall. We could see La Fortuna, the nearby city, and its lights at night, and it made for a very romantic dinner, time spent together outdoors gazing at the view. We were able to leave the windows wide open in our bedroom and bathroom as well bc it's surrounded by plants. This was an ingenious idea, as it allowed sunlight to come in while still preserving our privacy. Although it's pricier, I'd highly recommend staying in this type of room. It's located in a spot that's removed from the rest of the hotel. We felt like we were in secluded luxury. Made for much better feel than being surrounded by crowds at a bigger, commercial hotel. We woke up every morning, hearing the chirping of the birds, it really felt like paradise.

The hotel's located literally within a two-minute drive from a great set of waterfalls. It's also located at the entrance to a volcano that has been extinguished, called Cerro Chato. We made the arduous, but glorious hike up this mountain and enjoyed a refreshing swim in the lake inside the volcano. How many people can say they've swam inside a volcano???

We did have Wifi service inside our room, even though it was about 150 yards from the office.

When we checked out of the place, truth be told, it was rather hard saying good-bye to the staff as we really felt like we'd made new friends. We felt compelled to write cards to them and they all came out and hugged us! They say Costa Rica's known for their friendliness, but this was no ordinary staff. We will be back one day!

And for future visitors, have a great attitude at every turn. Remember, this is a third world country... but I believe your trip go a lot better with a few tips:

1) If you decide to rent a car, do get a GPS. It's too easy to miss turns, esp. if you don't speak Spanish. The GPS will also alert you of speed bumps, bridges (which you'll have to yield to others at times)

2) If you're the more adventerous type, do rent a car. It's a lot more fun if you're not at the mercy of tour companies, and the town is only about 10 min away. If you'd rather not think and plan, you'll be fine without a car. But if your budget allows, do rent a Quad Bike for your stay!

3) If you're hiking up Cerro Chato, do rent the hiking poles. I know, sounds rather wimpy, but all hikers we saw wished they'd done that (some made their make-shift poles).

4) Do bring a towel and bathing suit for swimming in Cerro Chato.

5) Do the zip lines from Arenal Tours, which is located immediately to the right as you come to the fork at the end of the road out of Green Lagoon. They have zip lines of up to 980Meters! Staff is super friendly and fun as well.

6) Do get lots of input from the staff. They're very knowledgeable and more than willing to assist you.

7) If you want to go to hot spring (like Tabacon) but cannot afford $400 - $500 / night, this is the place for you! You can also go to Baldi, which has 25 heated pools and water slides. It was so much fun! And for the latter, only $29 for the price of admission and dinner.

8) Whatever you do, and whatever happens... have fun!!!



The drive was enturous one from San Jose.

Room Tip: Choose the honeymoon suites of family villas! They are worlds better than the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hsunami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
You have no idea about the positive impact of your words in our souls!
Thank you so much for this review, we'll keep up growing always for your enjoyment.
Please, comeback soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel was a little hard to find at night. but once morning came, the hotel was beautiful. it sat walking distance to a waterfall and a dormant volcano.The breakfast was AWESOME!! made by a chef who made to order. I honestly felt like family there. They asked at night what time i wanted to eat and right at that time, my breakfast was ready. Bed was the only thing that was not excellent. it was a little stiff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Our location let us be away from everything, such a delicous thing for nature lovers!
But at the same time, we are just 10 minutes away from La Fortuna. The perfect cobination then!
Thanks a lot for your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

As noted by another reviewer, the website makes it look like a much more substantial resort, when (at least currently) it's really a small, simple hotel. Our taxi driver couldn't find the place, so be sure to bring directions; use La Fortuna Waterfall as a landmark. The room was clean and had a small fridge and a small safe (not large enough for a 13" laptop), plus a nonworking TV. The closet area had cubbyholes where you can put your clothing. The shower had good pressure, and shampoo and soap were provided. Unfortunately wifi did not work in our room, which was at the far end of the hall from the lobby, so we had to sit in the lobby in order to use the Internet. The website made it seem as though there would be bugs everywhere, including in our room (because they say they don't use insecticide), but that turned out to not be a problem. We didn't hear any noise through our walls, but we weren't actually sure there were any other guests in the rooms next to ours. The "restaurant" in the hotel is not a real restaurant where anyone other than hotel guests would come to eat. Sample breakfast is a nice fruit plate (watermelon, pineapple, papaya, and banana), rice and beans, egg, plantain, cheese, and toast. We ended up taking taxis into town for dinner. Someone at the front desk will call a taxi when you need one, and they can also set up tours for you. A car would be helpful, but be aware that the road to the hotel is steep and very rocky. Our hosts spoke some English, but a little Spanish will make communication easier. The pool is somewhat small but pleasant with a peaceful setting.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augusto80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Our guest are our reason to be.
Thank you very much for staying with us.
Please, be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

What a "AWESOME" trip !!! Everyone at the lodge went out of their way to make our trip unforgettable. We will return because of the staff. The accomedations were very nice and clean but you can get that most places. What was the stand out were the new friends we made at the Green Lagoon .We loved the location, view, food and again the staff. It was our first time here but it wont be our last....PURA VIDA !!!

Room Tip: Room 10 makes you feel like you have your own private resort and hot tub . And the bungalow they up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvinlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
The meaning of Pura Vida is 'Awesome'
And you are Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

WOW! It is hard to explain the sense of peace one can experience when one can get away from the real world to a place like this. Watching Tucans playing in the trees while having our morning coffee, clouds still covering the volcanic cliffs and hillsides just off our back porch....... I can only say that the staff here does everything in there power to see that your stay with them will meet all your expectations and assist you in any way to help with any additional things you may wish.

This is not a massive grand resort hotel location, its total capacity is only approx 24 or so guest. If your looking for glitz and glamore with the pricies to match there are many other locations that would be happy to take your money.

For us though it was a perfect trip in the perfect spot, a short cab ride to town, all of the tours we booked (at the front desk) picked us up in the lobby and were but a short ride to the location.

We found ourselves for the most part 2 of only a hand full of guest at the resort at times. The restaurant was spot on with breakfast! Beautiful fruit plates and pancakes that would set a new standard in the states. We found them there when we needed a quick lunch before a tour and had wonderfully prepared dishes of local fish and beef when we returned.

The grounds and gardens are beautifuly manacured, with tropic flowers in a bundance. Only to be out done by the diversity of their colors and sweet scent.

The superior room are great deals for the economicaly minded traveler.Very nice with local hard wood walls and ceilings, A/C that could double as frig for the entire room, hot water with pressure to finish even the most demanding shower and even a mini frig. to keep your snacks and beverages cold........ BUT.. if you want to step outside the box in a way that will have an effect on your memories of your stay for the rest of your life.... I would highly recommend a few nights in the Bungalo. Yep! Your head is for sure in the clouds now!

Over all, I just can't wait to visit the place again! To all the staff at the GreenLagoon Falls Park and Lodge A Job Well Done! Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheoylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Such a good description of the marvels we have at GreenLagoon!
Thank you very much, we hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
4.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort

Property: GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort
Address: | 300 mts north La Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica (Formerly GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GreenLagoon: The Choice of Wellbeing. At GreenLagoon, we offer a completely unique experience in the heart of Costa Rica. Our well being resort is ideal for adventure, relaxation and to jump start and support healthy lifestyles. For our founder Dr. Henry Villegas, wellness is a practice in life that is very important to him. Our resort was established to offer well being and sustainability to every single visitor and the communities that surround it. At the heart of GreenLagoon, you'll experience a comfortable environment with unparalleled service. Every person employed at our resort supports our well being mission. What a perfect place to rest your head, eat healthy and relax. Get to know new friends dedicated to serve you, and experience an exhilarating, unmatched collection of nature activities in the adventurous landscape that is Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GreenLagoon Wellbeing Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing