We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Hermosa, aptly named!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
122 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 122 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jeff W
McAllen, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villa Hermosa, aptly named!”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great little villa and guesthouse in the surrounding area of La Fortuna Costa Rica rain forest. Judah and his mother were great hosts. Just the right amount of hosting and support. Judah was a great concierge. Helped us with a lot of activities and transportation arrangements. Really appreciated as this was our first time in La Fortuna. Loved the villa and guest house. Outdoor kitchen is fully equipped and comfortable. Comfortable living quarters and arrangements. Large pool for yourself was nice. Beautiful landscaping with lots of native rain forest plants, trees and wildlife.
Would do it again some day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
Hi Jeff - It was a pleasure to host you and your family this summer. We really enjoyed your adventurous and spontaneous spirit. Your family did a great job of taking advantage of both the property and the tours during your stay. Good time management :-)

Please be sure to visit us again!

Best to you, your wife and your daughters.

Judah & Michele, The Villa Hermosa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YogimaeBo...
Arnold, Maryland
1 review
“Charming, well-maintained Oasis!”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Villa Hermosa. The property is convenient to La Fortuna and the Arenal attractions, yet maintains a private and exclusive environment. The evening hours are quiet here, and we very much enjoyed being able to prepare our own meals in the functional and clean kitchen area.

The pool and grounds have a meditative feel, and the abundance of birds only adds to that charm. It was great to be able to walk along the paths at this property and enjoy the peaceful sights and sounds.

During the day (or evenings!), a trip to any of the numerous and close hot springs is a 'must' experience for anyone visiting the area. The owners happily assisted us in recommending a few to try. A chocolate tour isn't a bad idea either!

It is with pleasure that we recommend this accurately described property to families, small groups, and anyone who appreciates a uniquely charming lodging option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
Hi Matt & Alicia - It was our pleasure to be your hosts and we are glad you are our friends here in Costa Rica as well. Glad that you had a chance to take advantage of the chocolate tour, hot springs, lake Arenal area and other attractions. Come visit us again soon! Best, Judah & Michele, The Villa Hermosa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FloridaGi...
FloridaGirl999
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Hermosa was exactly as stated and more. We enjoyed hanging out by the pool, playing darts, and walking through the bueatiful garden trail. My son enjoyed petting the therapy horses behind the property and Wendy's dogs. We enjoyed the outdoor living space and cooking some of our meals. I would recommend getting inside after dark if you don't like bugs, but the variety of species are quite interesting.

Wendy was a great host, with a variety of suggestions based on our excursion preferences. She is so kind and respectful. I would highly recommend Villa Hermosa to those who like the privacy away from the usual hotels and resorts!

Wendy recommended the 2-day pass to the award acclaimed Springs Resort where the Bachelor and Kardashians have stayed. It's right down the road from Villa Hermosa. We also went zip lining with Sky Trek, for adventurous people this is the ultimate adrenaline rush!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gringa-ti...
Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Your home away from home at Arenal Volcano”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I live in Costa Rica and have been to Arenal many times. We always enjoy seeing the volcano, going hiking, being by the lake, and the hot springs. But La Fortuna and the Arenal area can get pretty full with tourists. So, when we can find a way to explore and enjoy Arenal off-the-beaten-path, it’s a hidden gem to be treasured.

Villa Hermosa is like your home away from home. You really have all you need for a comfortable stay. The main guesthouse has a large open-air living area with comfortable armchairs and a sofa, rocking chairs, a long dining table for six, two bar-style tall tables with stools, and more stools tucked up to the kitchen counter. The open-air kitchen is fully stocked with all dishes and cookware, a full refrigerator, and a BBQ and stove. There is an ice bucket and chilled beer glasses in the freezer, and even coffee, tea, milk and sugar for you.

A large interior bedroom holds a king-size bed beautifully fashioned from thick, curving tree branches and outfitted with comfy pillows, silky soft sheets and a duvet cover. There is also a queen size bed in the corner by a large wardrobe. There is air-conditioning, a ceiling fan, and lots of well-positioned windows for fresh breezes. The master bathroom is very spacious with a big shower, and is stocked with fluffy white towels and a hair dryer.

Everything is very well-appointed and tastefully decorated by the owner Wendy, who has traveled all over the world and tried to think of every detail she liked from every place she ever stayed at. There are flashlights, an iPod docking station for music, two folding luggage stands, umbrellas, board games, books, and even floating pool toys. And, there is free Wi-Fi!!

The owners, Wendy and Gary, live next door on the property and are there if you want them, although you have as much privacy as you want. We loved the large pool with the cascading waterfall and ample sun deck, and also walking the beautiful garden trails. Gary is an accomplished nature guide and took us on a night walk to see all kinds of cool animals, both right there in the gardens and then another night on private rainforest trails. I highly recommend the tour!

A particularly cool feature about the Villa Hermosa is its close proximity to The Springs Resort & Spa – only 10 minutes. The Springs offers a two-day pass for only $60 per person and you get unlimited access for two days to all of their fabulous hot springs, five restaurants and five bars, and they are open from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Tabacon Hot Springs, on the other hand, charges $105 per person this time of year for their one-day pass.

If you’re looking to experience the real countryside of Costa Rica by Volcano Arenal, this is your chance at Villa Hermosa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location, the very comfortable and private accommodations, and being out of the tourist crush.
Liked least: The road getting there is a bit rough, but manageable in a 4x4.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willi348
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Wonderful house, even more wonderful host!”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Wendy's warmth and hospitality began months before my trip when she sent directions to a grocery store (and even offered to pick things up for me if I sent a list) and it continued throughout our entire trip. This wasn't just a rental home, it was having Wendy there as a local guide with wonderful suggestions for making the most of our vacation. She was available but always seemed to have a perfect sense for when to stop by and how long to stay. I can't say enough good things about her.

Her home was absolute perfection. It is set on a breathtaking property that we enjoyed viewing from the walking path. The outdoor living spaces were so comfortable. I'm used to my A/C at home (not to mention the dry Denver air) and thought I'd spend most of my time indoors but being in the mountains outdoors the air is so fresh and the temperature stays comfortable so it was really enjoyable. We love the pool table and dart board as well. It was great to have such a fun way to unwind at night without having to go anywhere.

Our visit was during the rainy season so we chose not to use the private pool but I was so impressed with the size and how clean it is kept. There is a caretaker who visits every day or even twice a day and I'd challenge you to find a stray leaf in that pool. We did love seeing the frogs swimming around at night.

The bedroom and bathroom are huge. They are updated and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and the A/C works very well to cool things down for sleeping at night. There are also lots of well positioned windows for a nice fresh breeze.

Every detail has been thought through. Everything you will need for the kitchen and grill as well as some things you'd expect to have to buy (like coffee) are stocked. There were a bunch of board games and books including a 2016 Costa Rica guide. I asked Wendy about bringing rafts for the pool and she even had those on hand and ready to go.

The home itself is a wonderful rental but Wendy's knowledge and desire to help you enjoy your trip to Costa Rica are absolutely invaluable! You can tell that she has traveled quite a bit herself and seeks to offer everything that she can to make your stay the best it possibly can be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our host
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rykyr2016
Dillon, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Colors of the rainbow”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Wow, what a beautiful property! Directions getting there were exact and when the iron gates opened up we were amazed. You can't tell what an oasis this place is from the road. Wendy has done such a wonderful job with not only the decorating, which is clean and colorful, but with thinking of absolutely everything we would need. Coffee, milk and sugar in the fridge in the outdoor kitchen, the waterfall inviting us for a swim in the awesome pool. She is not only a host but a super tour guide! Walking up to a guest house reminded me of a labyrinth. So peaceful with spots to stop and ponder. Games, horseshoes, the coolest pool/dart room ever! We loved our stay at Villa Hermosa and would highly recommend it. Very modern and upscale to say the least. Wendy's attention to the environment with recycling and sharing her dogs and volunteering in her Costa Rica community, was commendable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The colors of everything! Even the utensils were in perfect order and colorful!
Liked least: Not seeing any frogs in the frog pond, only tadpoles......
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2016
So happy you had a wonderful time. :-) I do everything I can to make sure people have a great vacation. :-) Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue G
Cincinnati, OH
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Property is beautiful inside and out”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The villa and grounds were as beautiful as the pictures. Wendy and the caretaker are diligent at keeping the outdoor area maintained. Wendy also stops by each day to answer any questions and make sure everything is going well, helping with excursion arrangements. Although the road from the main drag to the villa is bumpy, it does not take long to get to all the sights. We did the hanging bridges tour, hiked the volcano trail, went to the La Fortuna waterfall, and on a twilight float trip. They were all a short distance from the villa. We also did an adventure package at the Springs Resort which is less than a ten minute drive from the villa. For $109 per person we had 2 days of access to the resort, a horseback riding excursion, a river tubing excursion, and a wonderful 3 course lunch(we did not need dinner that day). The only negative about the property was that we were surprised at the amount of vehicle noise from the road. Motorcycles and mopeds buzzed by pretty frequently, and unfortunately many passed by at about 5:30AM each morning as workers head to the Springs for work. Wendy did provide earplugs which was a nice touch. I hate to mention it, but I would have liked to know that in advance as we were not expecting any traffic noise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor living space
Liked least: The road noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2016
Thank you for your review Sue! Yes we cannot wait for The Springs to finish their construction work on their new rooms...that is the reason for the 5:30am "traffic" which was experienced during your stay. It is temporary and we were told they are almost done!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing