We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, Quiet Hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fortuna Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Fortuna Backpackers
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Spent a night there. Since the dorm room I booked was full, they gave me the single room with private bathroom. Nice on their part. It is a small hostel and did not get to hang out much as most of the guests where family members traveling together. The host (a young woman) is very nice but not a good source of information about tours and hangouts, which would be useful in a town that is all about that. Nice little patio to chill in the morning or evenings coming back from hikes. Don't get the breakfast, it is cheap but not cooked there, just walk 2 blocks to the soda next door and you will find same food for cheaper (it is where they buy it anyhow). Good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    9
    2
    10
See reviews for
3
17
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The owner made the end of our trip just what we needed. He took care of us from the moment we arrived to booking us our way out. Travelling gets exhausting when you don't plan ahead and just go with the flow so it was a nice break having someone book everything for us.

Thanks Andrew, we had a blast!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in a room with private bath. We had a complimentary breakfast as we booked our Arenal volcano hike with hot springs with them.The staff speaks little English but was very friendly. We had to switch on the fan as it was hot and mosquitoes were buzzing around. It was quiet at night. A typical backpackers hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkBear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We experienced a lousy night in this noisy place. We stayed in one of the private rooms. One of the mattrasses was very smelly and the blankets were not very clean. No attempt was made to add any atmosphere to the hostel. The room most likely used to be a storage room. The owner is very helpful and friendly, though. If you go to La Fortuna search a little harder to find better value. We could recommend La Choza Inn behind the church.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LennieSuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We experienced a room with private bathroom. All very simple but nice. 
There's no breakfast included but the kitchen is well equipped and there is a pleasent outdoor dinning area.

We loved the fact that they give free laundry with 3 nights stay - super convenient! 

Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zararock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vist
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed there during the rainy season. Very fair prices.... even better that we where the only occupants there. The lady made some GREAT breakfast for us each morning for a very little charge. Would go back anytime! There was no "cooling" system working in our room and the beds where not the best...so at nights it got very hot and hard to sleep. Other then that it's an easy place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Nice backpacker with fair rates (compared to others in La Fortuna). Clean rooms with private bathroom and shower.
Breakfast at additional 4$.
WiFi free and fast.
Electricity in the room.
No hooks on the wall.
Friendly staff.
Lockers in sight of reception, bring your own lock.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorrrldTraveller20xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#53 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Choza Inn Hostel
La Choza Inn Hostel
#16 of 39 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.5 mi away
EcoHostel
EcoHostel
#11 of 71 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#10 of 71 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#9 of 71 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colores Del Arenal
Hotel Colores Del Arenal
#10 of 39 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fortuna Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna Backpackers

Property: La Fortuna Backpackers
Address: 75 mts Norte del Banco Popular | Frente a la Escuela La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortuna Backpackers, is a familiar Project, with the idea of creating a place where the visitors can lodge in a friendly, clean, safe and low budget space; where they can enjoy all the natural attractions offered by La Fortuna, San Carlos; here converge big touristic attractions, including the majestic Arenal Volcano, accompanied by the hot spring, whitewater rafting, waterfalls and the tropical rain forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Fortuna Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fortuna Backpackers Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing