We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“She cooks great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Fortuna Backpackers
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed there during the rainy season. Very fair prices.... even better that we where the only occupants there. The lady made some GREAT breakfast for us each morning for a very little charge. Would go back anytime! There was no "cooling" system working in our room and the beds where not the best...so at nights it got very hot and hard to sleep. Other then that it's an easy place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 62 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

Nice backpacker with fair rates (compared to others in La Fortuna). Clean rooms with private bathroom and shower.
Breakfast at additional 4$.
WiFi free and fast.
Electricity in the room.
No hooks on the wall.
Friendly staff.
Lockers in sight of reception, bring your own lock.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorrrldTraveller20xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Nice, clean and cheap hostel. Close to the main street in La Fortuna and very safe. Close to restaurants, bus station and banks. Stayed in a private room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed and was very clean. I paid about $55 for 3 days. Safes are available but you need to bring your own lock. There is always some staff at the hostel until 10 pm everyday. Owner is very helpful and can book trips for much cheaper than online and outside. Not much common area to hang out or read.
Would recommend for solo travelers and bunch of friends traveling too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swordfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The owner is incredible and can help you with Anything you need. The room was worth the price and very clean. Of course being a spoiled American I hated not having AC but we didn't spend much time there at all. The Breakfast was INCREDIBLE!!! The fresh pineapple juice was so delicious. If you're a backpacker, you just need a safe place to hold your belongings during the day and lay your head at night. This is it! walking distance to restaurants. And it has a washer and dryer! Again, great service. Worth more than every penny!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah01203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed with a group of friends
The staff were very friendly hooked us up with good tours for much cheaper than outside - definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

La Fortuna Backpackers was the best place to stay in La Fortuna without a doubt.
Hostel owners are very nice and helpful. Do arrange activities--such as repelling or Baldi--through this hostel! Rooms and bathrooms were very very clean. The stay was only $10, and towels are included (This was one rare occasion in Costa Rica where towels are provided!).
You will never regret staying here!! I guess the only bad thing about this hostel was cold shower...but really, it's not that bad.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna_Backpackers, Propietario at La Fortuna Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

for us is very important to know you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you very much for your good wishes and hope you to return in the future!!!

Thank you very much !!!

Roger & Lilo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

A small hostel with a friendly owner. We had a private room with two beds. There are shared bathrooms and showers just off the "lobby". Not real private. Average cleanliness. We had little ants all over our room that invaded our bags. No A/C meant our room hovered around 85 degrees at night. Fan did little to help. Sometimes it's worth paying an extra $10 each for nicer digs.

Room Tip: Might as well choose a dorm room. Odds are you'll have it to yourself and sleep just as poorly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Supercords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna_Backpackers, Propietario at La Fortuna Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Dear Supercords! we at La Fortuna Backpackers are really sorry that your 3 nights of lodging were not as pleasant as your expectations. With all respect, I want to mention that occasionally, when comes out that someone of our guests have some disappontment we try to solve it at once, if it is necessary we even change the room. Concerning the ants we fumigated the whole hostel every 6 months (nevertheless it is difficult to control in the humid tropics) we are always improving our cleanliness controls to avoid this situations maintaining a strict control, besides, it is important to mention we do have a full equipped kitchen to keep in the best conditions the foodstuffs of our clients.

ESPECIALLY, we want to thanks your comments; we do appreciate them, since it is the only way of improving our services. Once again, excuse us for the inconvenient.

Manuel Emilio & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
6.5 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,586 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
4.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 77 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
658 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,394 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fortuna Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna Backpackers

Address: 75 mts Norte del Banco Popular | Frente a la Escuela La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortuna Backpackers, is a familiar Project, with the idea of creating a place where the visitors can lodge in a friendly, clean, safe and low budget space; where they can enjoy all the natural attractions offered by La Fortuna, San Carlos; here converge big touristic attractions, including the majestic Arenal Volcano, accompanied by the hot spring, whitewater rafting, waterfalls and the tropical rain forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna Backpackers Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing