We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the most fun nites in Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Rocks Cafe

Lava Rocks Cafe
Cuisines: Bar, American, Latin, Pub, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Latin in Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the most fun nites in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The bartender was awesome. I just had to have a t-shirt. Went during the day w/ husband & wasn't afraid to go back later that nite by myself cuz hubby was tired but I wasn't. Food was good & atmosphere dark & sultry.
If I ever make it back to the Arenal area- I'll definitely be back. I highly recommend a visit if u go see the volcano.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachmountaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    106
    52
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great Ceviche and Quesadillas! Huge portions for great prices! Because the portions are huge, you need to leave some space for the delicious desserts!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank crazchick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Costa Rica 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Another great restaurant that provides great service for our group of 16, the food was delicious and what we expected and the drinks were yummy. Definitely a place to go back to

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_19672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although they were out of the Mango Cheesecake each time we went, I do like that they are dog rescue friendly. I donated to their cause. Please note that they only take cash. No VISA.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good service, good drinks and variety of food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were stuck here during a torrential rain and really enjoyed our chance to relax. The arroz con pollo was a particular standout.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Rocks Cafe also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing