We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ceviche!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Rocks Cafe

Lava Rocks Cafe
Costado sur de la iglesia catolica La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 40-4417, Costa Rica
506-24798039
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Latin, Bar, Pub, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Ceviche!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After a day hiking around the Hanging Bridges, this place offered traditional Costa Rican food at a nice price and the cold beer was perfect! Great service, even if their English wasn't very good. That's forgivable however seeing how my Spanish is terrible! :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mavrickkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    104
    52
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Really interesting menu and a bit more flair than typical Costa Rican fare. Good drinks, fun atmosphere and great music too. Highly recommend for the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jhahnlesser55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I loved it, there presentation is nice.Our order has rice shaped in a volcano. thought that was cute. The service was great and fast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prissya55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lunch Time - very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stopped off at this cafe for lunch - I tried the casado - it was really nice - never tried it before so was a bit unsure however I did try a few more before my holiday was finished just to compare - this was the best one. We had a couple of beers and the price was very reasonably - very relaxing lunch with no pressure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DorothyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very good lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Foods not fancy but it's good. Be aware that it's 'cash only'. It's situated along the main street in a casual setting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Rocks Cafe also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing