We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”
Review of Luigi's Restaurant

Luigi's Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fine”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

A nice place to sit, friendly waiters but extremely slow in making food. Waited 45 minutes for our meal. My tuna salad was fine but had minimal tuna on it. My family all had pizza. They were large and with a huge quantity of topping, so no one, not even my husband was able to finish it. Not terrible but not great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenzas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    23
    16
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Open air dining was ok. I ordered typical Costa Rican fare. The beef was very tough. My husband ordered a T-bone steak. The waitress waited a long time to tell us they didn't have any T-bones and tried to bend my husband's arm into having a tenderloin instead. I definitely would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stopped here on a Saturday night and while the food was good and priced fairly (in my opinion), the restaurant was understaffed. You're right on the main road so it's great for people watching. They were very accommodating, making our pizza half my choice and half my wife's. I liked the crust. The medium pizza is enough for 2 even if you're a big eater. Unfortunately, once the restaurant became busy and the staff overwhelmed, it took us forever to get our bill... but hey, you're on vacation. Relax! They did put our left overs in a box for us and the staff was always friendly when you could get a hold of them.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milkovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spicy Pizza - Yum!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

First of all, I believe this is the Luigi's that is in La Fortuna San Carlos. We ate here with another couple, both ordered pizzas and beers plus one soup. All were quite tasty. One of our pizzas included jalepenos and boy was it spicy - and good! Crust was better than pizza in the local soda in town. The service was pretty standard, if not a bit slow because an important soccer game was on tv and much of the staff was half watching the game. We didn't mind as we understand the importance of some games and also we were not in a hurry.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCL_JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
526 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Only OK”
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stopped here since it was the first restaurant we saw when we hit La Fortuna. The pizza was OK but the service was slow and everything else was average. We were the only ones in it, it should have been a hint. My recommendation is to drive past it and try some of the higher rated places instead.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Luigi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing