We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly extreme!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Rica Descents

Costa Rica Descents
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Costa Rica Descents is an adventure outfitter specializing in whitewater rafting. On our customized excursions you will literally plunge headfirst into the breathtaking beauty of Costa Rica. Imagine the excitement of whitewater rafting combined with the picturesque environment of Costa Rica's tropical rain forests. With safety as our number one priority, we hand-pick only highly trained and personable guides, whose primary concern is the quality of your experience.We also offer a chance for you to observe our exotic and colorful tropical birds with a qualified ecology expert. With us you can soak away your stress in natural hot springs, explore the country on horseback or a mountain bike and come face to face with the rainforest canopy. We make sure you take full advantage of everything this country s natural beauty has to offer.
2 reviews
“Truly extreme!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Me and 3 more amigas went through the lvl4-3 rafting, it was thrilling fun and takes some effort (in a good way)
Its a rough rocky narrow river, especialy when the flow is strong during the rainy season
After the rafting they took us to lunch in a local farm, it was a decent meal with a short tour in the farm afterwards
Cost: 75$ in town (la fortuna)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dror S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We are pleased to read you enjoyed our class IV + section , hopefully we will see you again soon for our class V section ! Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    37
    9
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So helpful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Traveled with a group of 4 late June to La Fortuna area. Stumbled into the Costa Rica Descents office to inquire about some white water rafting one night and met Sofia.. I regret booking a few tours ahead of arriving in La Fortuna since this office made it so easy to do in person!

Sofia can literally book everything for you! She was so helpful and answered all of our questions. While we ultimately opted out of white water rafting, our group booked a day at Baldi hot springs, a boat tour of Cano Negro, and even taxis and shuttle buses around Costa Rica.

In the future, Sofia will definitely be our go to person in La Fortuna. She really took the time to explain all of our options, suggest activities we hadn't even thought of, and even recommended a Soda we ate at every single day!

Genuine people who truly wanted our group to leave CR happy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing Costa Rica Descents, we will be sure to pass this great review on to our staff and Sophia !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My friend and I are physically restricted from the extreme attractions that this great company is known for. We stayed for 3 weeks in April and Roger along with the entire staff made our trip a very positive experience. They helped us navigate the area in a knowledgeable and friendly way.
Check out the sustainable farm tour, it's amazing. Thanks to all at Costa Rican Descents for your hospitality.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
It was amazing to have you here ! Thank you for providing other reviewers with such positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extreme Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our group of 17 traveled to La Fortuna from June 30th to July 6th on the Living Social deal with Costa Rica Descents. What an amazing trip!! Roger, Sophia, Danny, Jose, Walter, Dorian, Esteban along with everyone else were extremely helpful, informative and wonderful. The Class III, IV and V rafting adventure was stupendous. We were in great hands with Hawkson as our guide. We thought we were doing most of the rowing but looking back at the pictures Hawkson had his hands full!!! Safety is first and foremost at Costa Rica Descents. Not once did we feel that our lives were in danger. We trekked the Arenal Volcano with my 75 year old mother. Our guide, Walter, was very patient with all of us. What a beautiful country!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sargeslh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We are extremely pleased to read that both you and your group enjoyed your trip here in Costa Rica. It was our pleasure to have you here and we hope you return for another vacation soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Book your ENTIRE TRIP through Costa Rica Descents!!! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We first came across Costa Rica Descents through a Livingsocial.com deal. Prior to the actual trip, I had a LOT of contact with them through email and phone with my million questions about payment, booking, adding extra nights, and adding an extra person. This company spent so much time and attention on us, I don't even know how they managed to take care of anyone else!! :)

From the moment we landed at the airport to the moment we left Costa Rica, we were completely in Costa Rica Descents' hands, and they provided an experience and treatment for which I'm so grateful that this review does not seem nearly enough.

From its office staff to its tour guides, drivers, and even the great companies they hand pick to work with--- it wasn't the rafting, rappelling, horseback riding, zip lining, atv riding, hot springs, hikes, excursions, boat rides, snorkeling, nature tours, delicious food, or great hotels---it was the PEOPLE at Costa Rica Descents that made it the great trip that it was and make it the amazing business that it is.

Sofia, Isaac, Roger, and Mariana (office), Johnny, Emmanuel, Oscar, Jose, Jacson, Danny (tours), Gonzo, Erick (transportation): thank you so very much for your kindness and for taking our trip to the next level. Thank you very much to anyone whose name I left out. :) I have the memory of a goldfish! :)

I left Costa Rica with amazing memories I will have with me forever, and I owe so much of it to you all!! :) :) Big hug to you!! :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation ! It was a pleasure to have you here and we really hope to have you back one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Descents also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Costa Rica Descents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing