We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 'Tour' Experience in Costa Rica”

Costa Rica Descents
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Costa Rica Descents is an adventure outfitter specializing in whitewater rafting. On our customized excursions you will literally plunge headfirst into the breathtaking beauty of Costa Rica. Imagine the excitement of whitewater rafting combined with the picturesque environment of Costa Rica's tropical rain forests. With safety as our number one priority, we hand-pick only highly trained and personable guides, whose primary concern is the quality of your experience.We also offer a chance for you to observe our exotic and colorful tropical birds with a qualified ecology expert. With us you can soak away your stress in natural hot springs, explore the country on horseback or a mountain bike and come face to face with the rainforest canopy. We make sure you take full advantage of everything this country s natural beauty has to offer.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We recently stumbled into the Costa Rica Descents office in La Fortuna and asked them what we should do the following day. We'd just done a different 2 day rafting trip so were hesitant to spend more time of our trip rafting. Alberto and Warner convinced us that the trip on the Balsa River would no doubt impress us.

They promised we'd have a great time on our trip and they didn't disappoint. I'm rarely surprised by great service, and I was BLOWN AWAY by the Costa Rica Descents team. Safety, professionalism, bang for your buck, etc, I would recommend them for any tour or trip that they offer.

We went on the Upper Balsa trip and it was amazing. The rapids were intense, the guides and safety boaters made sure we had a safe, but fun time. They even threw in a waterfall rappel for the two of us to make our day.

An incredible few hours rafting then we were greeted by dry towels on the transport van (luxury compared to most raft trips). They then took us to an organic farm that is completely self sufficient and sustainable for a delicious lunch. The food, the coffee, the service, all wonderful.

Thank erinonsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

On behalf of the staff here at Costa Rica Descents, we would like to thank you for your great review! It was very nice to read such a great review. Thank you once again, and we hope that you come see us again soon! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 506 of 874 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

You often hear tour guides say their activity/tour is the best experience but Warner and the crew at Costa Rica Descents totally exceeded my expectations. No one can argue the crew and the experience are THE VERY BEST. I went to Costa Rica for 9 days and did it all - zip line, bungee jump, surf, hiking, ATV, kayak, hot springs, city activities, etc. This tour was hands down the best and most memorable experience! They pick you up at your place, provide all the equipment, you raft for a few hours, snack on fresh pineapple and watermelon, chow down on a ton of organic food at an organic farm (not open to the public), drink fresh Costa Rican coffee, tour the farm and learn how things are processed, and sample some alcohol all for $80. Best time ever and a great price. The only thing that you MUST do while visiting Costa Rica is this tour!

Thank Boobie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for your recommendation and great review. It was a pleasure to have you here , and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We did the category 3-4 rapids with Alex as our guide. The whole experience, was just like they promised - lots of fun, exhilaration and most of all very safe. The post-rafting meal is the best we had during our week long trip in costa rica Next time im in CR I will definitely meet up with them again to do the cat 5 rapids.

Thank helbirdier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We look forward to your return and are very pleased to read you had a good experience! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Loved this tour! Amazing is the one word to sum it up. So much fun, even for beginners and the guides are fantastic. Hermando in particular! ;)

Thank Erinmeagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for writing such a positive review on Trip Advisor! It was a pleasure to have you, and we sure hope that we see you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have had many rafting experiences in North America, but this trip was by far the best! Alberto and crew will ensure you have FUN the entire time, guide you through gnarly rapids and educate you on Tico culture. I did the the upper balsa which are BIG rapids with non stop action. Afterwards the organic farm lunch and tour was the perfect way to unwind and relax with the other rafters. Totally recommend it to anyone looking for an AMAZING rafting adventure!!

Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your recommendation! It was a pleasure to take you rafting, and we do hope that we will see you back here in Costa Rica soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Descents also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Costa Rica Descents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing