We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break from typical local food”
Review of Que Rico Arenal

Que Rico Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Italian, Costa Rican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice break from typical local food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice surprise to have a delicious pizza and Italian options. Reasonable prices and also provide delivery

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CacheGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    182
    44
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“solid place”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

this place was pretty good, i wouldn't say the food is outstanding but the service was really great, people were friendly, nice atmosphere, pizza was suprisingly better than i expected and the beers were cold! great for lunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
“Que Rico and the staff are amazing!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I visited Costa Rica for our honeymoon and spent several days in La Fortuna. We stayed at the Arenal Volcano Inn, which is also the site of Que Rico Arenal, one of the best restaurant experiences we've had. We actually ate there on multiple occasions, and were thoroughly impressed with each meal. The ceviche is delicious and don't forget the baccio for dessert - completely decadent. We drank at the bar on multiple occasions and had numerous "Caipa Ticos", a variation of the Brazilian caipirinha. They were prepared by our bartender Melvin, who is an artist with the way he carefully crafted our drinks. We already miss the excellent experience we had there - pura vida!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was the restaurant next to our hotel (Arenal Volcano Inn) so we ate here for lunch & dinner a couple of times during our stay. The food is good - I highly recommend the ceviche! - and the staff very friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sageone12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our waiter HATED Americans”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

On our second trip to CR/Arenel, we ended up here in a bad storm even though our hotel does not recommend this restaurant. We sat down and were ignored the first 15 minutes although the British family next to us (that sat down after us) were immediately attended. Finally we were brought bread and water. I could see the waiters grumbling over who was going to take care of us. After about 10 more minutes, our waiter (Melvin) came over. He did not introduce himself, he did not ask what we would like to order he merely said "Ready/" and began looking distractedly around the restaurant. I speak a little Spanish and always try to use it. I told him (in Spanish) to hold on that we had not ordered drinks yet. He acted very annoyed and put out but took our drink orders. 15 more minutes later we had our beers. He took our food order, gave us more annoyed expressions over our request for two checks and then walked away never to be seen again until the checks were brought to the table. The food was average at best. At the end of the meal I found Melvin and asked him if he had a problem waiting on Americans. He actually laughed at me and corrected my Spanish. Really? I try to never be that typical American tourist that starts jabbering off in English just expecting people in other countries to understand and serve me. We finished our heated discussion and I told him that I would be writing this review. He laughed again. Maybe the other waiters would have been nicer our just not flat out rude to our faces but the food isn't even worth it anyway. If you are from the United States, I would not go here. You will leave angry and disappointed. There are so many fantastic restaurants in Arenal/La Fortuna, don't waste your time with theses people. They don't like us and they don't want our money. Good Riddance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alabamaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soyafortunado, Propietario at Que Rico Arenal, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Mr. Alabamaliz

Thank you for your review and letting us know about your personal experience at our restaurant. We are taking actions to guarantee immediate improvement for future customers. We want to let you know that we love American tourists and have many North Americans that visit us several times while they are in the Arenal Volcano area, some even repeat when they come back to Costa Rica for their second or third trip. For me as co owner of the restaurant our waiters way of serving you is not acceptable and I want to sincerely apologize with you. I do hope when you come back to Costa Rica you visit us again so you may experience the real service of Que Rico restaurant. I look forward to meeting you in the future!.

Thanks again for your opinions.

Best Regards,

Hernan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Que Rico Arenal also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Que Rico Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing