We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready to ride again with Bike Arenal”

Bike Arenal-Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Bike Ride Tour from Arenal Volcano to El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike Arenal is Costa Rica’s leading Bike Tour and Multisport Tour Operator. Located in La Fortuna, near Arenal Volcano we offer multi-day bike tours including accommodations and meals. Visit active volcanoes, rainforests, waterfalls, small rural villages and tropical beaches. Multisport Itineraries include biking, white water rafting, rainforest hikes, zip lines, surf lessons and more.Custom designed Adventure Holidays and Active Family Vacations.One-day mountain Bike Tours in Arenal Volcano and Arenal Lake.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ready to ride again with Bike Arenal”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Bike Arenal provided a perfect mountain bike ride experience that surpassed my expectations. My son and I bike all over Mount Tamalpais at home in Marin County, California. We were looking for something personalized that would suit our riding abilities. Alejandro made our experience complete with excellent bikes and a good workout and climb above Lake Arenal with sweeping, panoramic views. The personal attention was the best. I enjoyed the guided ride, information about the wildlife, along with the history of the lake and volcanic eruptions. I will be visiting again soon for another mountain bike adventure. It would be especially fun to visit for the International 100 mile Costa Rican mountain bike challenge and cheer Team Arenal to place. Thank You Alejandro and Bike Arenal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FARSNUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    14
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nahant, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“See Beautiful Country from a bike”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Bike Arenal is run by Mario who was efficient and easy to deal with prior to arriving in Costa Rica. Alejandro was a terrific biking guide. Not only was he timely, courteous and kind, he was an extraordinary athlete. The driver, Helario, was also polite and a gentle spirit who made the trip stops effortless and simple providing smiles and well prepared snacks. Alejandro was knowledgeable about his country and provided information on the Costa Rica's economics, eduction, political landscape, and nature. He gave helpful tips about biking when necessary and let us go at our own pace with no pressure. He offered choices of routes and made a stop at one of his favorite places on a local river that was very special (I won't spoil the surprise). He pointed out interesting birds and trees and picked beautiful rest stops. He even took pictures and e-mailed them to us as we didn't bring our cameras!

Lunch afterward at Novilos Steak House was superb with beautiful views from the open air restaurant. They made the choices to eat easy after a long bike ride. It was a pleasure to sit with both of them and dine on delicious typical food. I had the fish cosada and ate every crumb!

I highly recommend going on any trip with Mario, Alejandro and Helario. They are a great team. If I go back to Costa Rica, I will hunt them down. They feel like new pals!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank seashorenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved every minute!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Alejandro was absolutely brilliant - everything you want from a guide. He rocked up with great quality mountain bikes, helmets and decomposable water bottles, which were given as a souvenir.

He led us on an amazing trip around Lake Arenal, taking photos of us on his phone while riding. He taught us loads about the area, the volcano, the wildlife and even Costa Rican politics! We could not have asked for anything more from a guide.

When we stopped for a rest, his driver laid out the most wonderful picnic of fruit platters, energy drinks and trail mix.

We would highly recommend Bike Arenal both for people like us, who just want a leisurely tour around the area, and for keen enthusiasts who are looking for something a bit more challenging - Alejandro was off to lead a 3 day tour after leaving us!

Helpful?
1 Thank Coral S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bike, raft and beach Costa Rica”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have just finished a wonderful trip with Bike Arenal and wanted to add a few comments about this efficient, professional company. We did the 7 day bike tour, hired 2 bikes for 12 days to explore the Nicoya penninsula and then finished with the 5 day bike, raft and beach adventure. Everything was perfect, from the initial planning and communication from Australia to the routes, food, accommodation, safe drivers and sharing of local knowledge. Thanks to the team especially Alejandro, Mayron, Brainer and Eladio- you helped make this special country even more special.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 30Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a really hard time working out the details with Bike Arenal. They were slow to communicate, confusing with payment, and unclear on how to arrange pick-up/drop off. My husband and I are avid cyclists and were looking forward to this most about our trip, it ended up being a great disappointment and if we go again we will make other arrangements.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 981Eds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bike Arenal-Day Tours also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Bike Arenal-Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing