We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveler rating
335
55
9
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
55
9
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmud bathtour of the propertypineapple houseoff the beaten pathcosta ricadirt roadcommon areas arespring fed poolplants and animalsbeautiful junglenatural springwaterfall hikeauthentic experiencepura vidapiece of paradisehighlight of our tripamazing property
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 419 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2017

Lodge is in need of a good make over. This picture on the site date probably. Many years

The employees are super, and charming. Ready to help and make us feel at home. The room was not what we expected. The small pool near the kitchen is empty and we were told the last day was another pool that we never found. There is a third pool at the bottom of the hill that is also empty.

The meals offered were good and at a fair price. Internet works only in common area.

We had to leave earlier and owner told us he had to charge the last day since he could not replace us, although the rooms were far from full. Fair enough.

The only advise please do not rely on pictures on website. Rooms are not that fresh

Room Tip: Don't rely on pictures
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Owner at Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

The main swimming pool has been renovated and is wonderful... the Small pool like a hotub near the kitchen is not kept full because it attracts frogs ..who sing loudly at night so this is our policy not to keep it full ... The other pool in the jungle is great and functional ..all pools are fed from natural springs ... the fact you never found it ..just reflects on you ...it is there..see the map or ask... There is nothing wrong with the rooms ..may not be what you expected ? Whatever that means ... Most people think they are spacious airy ,great balcony views , excellent beds they are all good rooms ...Look at the hundreds of fotos here and Facbk the vast majority show stunning vegitation ,birds animals ,great views ... whats the problem ? Fotos are posted every day by our happy guests...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017

We stayed here for the second time and loved it just as much as the first time. It reminds me of scenes from Raiders of the Lost Ark at times. The lodge is rustic and unspoiled admidst ten acres of private trails..one even leading down to a hidden waterfall to play under. William and Wilmer are great hosts. Breakfasts and dinners can be ordered each day or you can prepare your own meals in the kitchen. There are lots of birds in the grounds.It is a little tricky to get to and a four wheel drive vehicle is a help for the climb up to the lodge. It is one of my favourite places in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new room in the main part of the lodge. There are ceiling fans , but no air conditioning.
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kira983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017

We had only three nights at Princesa de la Luna but felt right at home immediately.. What an amazing place - home cooked meals, beautiful serene nature at your doorstep and wonderful staff that were so warm, welcoming and attentive. The property is truly beautiful and the hike is a must. Your safety and comfort are always a priority here. The rooms are simple and clean. The atmosphere, including the wonderful pets, promotes mingling with other travellers while absorbing the surroundings.
This was our favorite place in Costa Rica and we hope to return and bring our whole family along next time.
If you are looking for a big screen tv, pavement, and flashy digs, go someplace else. If you appreciate nature, beauty, peace, and kind passionate staff, this is the place for you. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kar364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Our family of 15 (grandparents, kids, and grandkids) just got back from an incredible stay in Costa Rice with 4 days at Princesa. We had a fantastic time and William was very helpful. The grandkids loved the house, the animals and loved playing and exploring the grounds. The waterall tour with William was loads of fun, we learned a lot plus it was a great workout! Keep in mind, it is an ecolodge in the heart of the jungle - its not the Hilton - but if you want an authentic Costa Rican experience with beautiful views, great people and comfortable rooms, this is it.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017

My wife and I stayed at Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge during our honeymoon and could not have asked for a better experience. William, Will and Maritza were incredible.

William was so attentive to our needs and yet remained receptive to all guests. When you stay at Princesa not only are you welcomed by the staff but also the guests! William makes everyone feel like a family so this became easy, once you catch the bug its hard to shake! He maintained the perfect level of casualness and professionalism throughout our entire stay (4 nights), When things got busy or a ride fell through it was William who made sure we were taken care of. Even if it was late William made sure you either had plans or were happy staying in. Although he was busy managing the site I cannot stress how calm and helpful he was. I will never forget how William helped us get some bandages and a splint at a pharmacy in town, after an unfortunate ATV incident. On the same day my boot broke and William drove to a hardware store where he picked the right glue to fix my boot. Never have I felt so comfortable away from home. Finally, William was extremely smart and funny. We held conversation in Spanish and English so I may have gotten to know William and Willy more than the average North American but I can honestly say that even if you do not speak Spanish, William will be your greatest source for information and he will entertain you in conversation when he is not attending to the lodge.

Willy - Willy was so friendly and genuine that it was easy to become friends quickly. He was very knowledgeable about the property as well as the animals and plants in the area. Willy also was the one who guided us on our hike of the property. The hike was so good that I would not stop talking about it with other guests! Willy made us laugh and he made us feel right at home for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

These men were so welcoming that my wife and I often comment how we miss Princesa de la Luna. There is something about this site that makes you feel like you are staying in your own home. I can attest to the fact that you will also meet great people during your stay at Princesa de la Luna. We made quick friends with everyone and thanks to William we all went to the town's Festival and enjoyed each others company. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Princesa de la Luna. Just make sure to keep its charm intact!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews