We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great place, great service... low rates..”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view, great place, great service... low rates..”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend went there for my birthday, the service was excelent, every one was so polite and willing to make us have a great time.

Rooms were confortable, rates were really low, it was near to fortuna and they even help us getting a tour to the volcano. Definitely a place I would visit again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    45
    7
    11
    9
See reviews for
127
94
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
3007
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The lodge is situated in the middle of the rainforest and still close to la Fortuna. The view is fantastic and the lodge has an amazing garden. Staff is very friendly, warmhearted and helpful. We enjoyed the tour with Diego. The daily breakfast was definitly one of the best we had within the last 6 weeks of traveling around - bananapancakes were delicous :-) ! (Credits to the kitchen staff) We felt very comftable and even stayed a night longer than expected.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tukan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is an utterly charming exquisitely situated paradise. The hospitable staff cooked us delicious meals and were so kind to us. It is truly off the beaten path and their signage could use a little updating but once you arrive it is elegant, unique and comfortable. If you are the sort of traveler who prefers the road less traveled and does not require a mini bar and shampoo- this is for you. We loved it our two nights and i will send all my Costa Rica bound friends.

Room Tip: our room was large and beautiful. it was #2. We really loved it and the huge bed was comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maskmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

It is always a gamble booking a place, but after reading reviews my wife and I took the plunge and booked the Princesa de la Luna to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We love places that are off the beaten path -- unique, and close to nature. This place is perfect: it's about 2km up a dirt road and not near any major roads or highways. It was easy to get into town and around to various attractions -- and a bonus was that the property sits on its own little park -- complete with trails, waterfalls, etc. The outside dining and kitchen had a great vibe. This place is a little rustic -- so don't expect a typical hotel, but it is comfortable, safe, and private. There are two dogs that go with the place, but we found them to be fun and part of the scene! The best part of the place, though, was the staff: William and Jazminn were wonderful. We would return in a heartbeat. The natural swimming pool wasn't really swimmable, but they were working on that to improve the quality. Hot tub is not functional and we didn't care -- in fact, it would detract from the nature that abounds. There are only about 4 or 5 rooms -- so it can be a little desolate if they aren't all full, and that is fine with us, but some who crave interaction with other travelers may be lonely! The food was good. We had breakfast every day and most dinners as well. Food was better here than in town. The place is rustic: so if you can put up with a dog that barks once in a while and an occasional bug, etc, you are in for a treat (and a great view of the volcano).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at Princess De La Luna for two nights during our two week trip to Costa Rica. Needless to say, this part of our trip was a highlight thanks to Jonathan and the amazing staff. It should be said that this is not your typical hotel. Firstly, it’s located a little off the beaten path but don’t let that scare you away. Once you arrive, you’ll find yourself in a stunning jungle retreat away from the more touristy center of town. It’s a perfect way to visit La Fortuna with the luscious jungle right in your back yard. Jonathan, the owner, was extremely helpful and arranged visits for us to nearby hikes and hot springs. We didn’t even have to worry about meals as breakfast and dinners were provided (for a small extra fee). While this isn’t your typical hotel, my girlfriend and I absolutely loved our stay and would recommend it to anyone visiting La Fortuna.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dratt9932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Not knowing what to expect as we drove up the long dirt road up to Princesa de la Luna, I was pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful and relaxing jungle hotel. It is the perfect place for somebody who likes to be outside of town, yet still enjoys comfortable amenities like a king sized bed and a large veranda. The surrounding grounds are filled with beautiful landscape and amazing little trails for hiking through the jungle. Although it was outside of town, we were provided delicious meals at the lodge and felt totally at home. The owner was very helpful and accommodating, especially with transportation to and from the lodge. It may not be the top choice for someone looking for the typical resort-type hotel, but it was perfect for us and we would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaios B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We never actually got to stay at the hotel, which was a real shame, but this was due to the hotel itself. We booked the hotel and were in email contact with them with them stating that they would be happy to have us on the dates we requested, they said it was booked and emailed over a payment email and advised that they would remind us closer to the time to pay. Now as this is mine and my other half's honeymoon we decided to pay it off in February and not wait until March. At this time we got an email back:

"Hi Sally.

I am sorry bad news we can not accept your reservation. We will refund immediately.

All the Best

Esteban"

Now this infuriated me. Not only had we booked to room but no explanation was given as to why we could not stay there and on top of that if we had waited to pay until the date we had to in March then we would have found out a month before our honeymoon that we would not have accommodation.

We have since been advised that the hotel had been double booked and as the other booking paid first they got the room, but I still feel that a courtesy email before we paid once they saw that the room was double booked would have been the best customer service. The hotel tried to state that it was the travel service provider that had duplicated the booking however I contacted the hotel directly through their website and booked by email directly with the hotel.

Myself and my other half are now hunting around high and low to try and find somewhere that we will be able to stay for those nights which has put a real dampener on the honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenguinSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
5.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,433 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
5.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

Property: Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Address: La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Princess of the Moon Ecolodge is nestled in a lush tropical plant farm with a great location. This magical place is unusual, with more than 100 types of fruit trees, including many threatened and endangered species. The area is one of the most biodiverse and fertile in the world so wonderful to understand, observe and experience wildlife and nature. The aim is to integrate the principles of permaculture and creating a lifestyle self-sufficient and sustainable in harmony with the local biodiversity. Swimming pools, waterfalls, jacuzzi and many hiking trails on the farm as well as many other activities in the area. This is an interesting place for a honeymoon or a romantic adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Princesa De La Luna Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing