We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A totally unique experience, the highlight of our trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
sf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A totally unique experience, the highlight of our trip”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We recently stayed with our 2 young sons, and it was certainly the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. It's essentially a small national park, with a maze of trails in the jungle, an otherworldly waterfall, natural water pool, and more. Jonathan was a tremendously welcoming host, and showed us around the property and its many fruiting trees. He has been building on and landscaping the property (with help from local friends) for the last 10 years. I think the part that made it such a magical experience was how integrated into the local area it is - it's not a walled luxury resort, but rather a home away from home. I would recommend this to any one of my friends.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank brady b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    44
    7
    11
    9
See reviews for
123
92
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We traveled and stayed here with four kids (ages 10, 11, 11, and 17). Of the three places we stayed in Costa Rica, they all like Princesa de la Luna the best. It's a very unique property set on 25 acres in the jungle. We rented the whole lodge for 6 of us and loved the open air concept of the living areas and the kitchen.

As the adults relaxed and enjoyed the scenery and bird watching, the kids roamed the 8km of trails and enjoyed the pool. A couple of the workers pointed out the toucans and other birds as well as shared fresh coconuts from the trees.

The pool is a natural spring fed pool. A little algae may be expected (as mentioned in another review), but didn't bother us. The creek at the bottom of the ravine is an awesome place to hike and swim.

Jonathan was very accommodating and nice. We arrived late the first night and he ordered pizzas to be delivered to the house which was very nice and a great suggestion. Seneca and Boya made great meals and were very reasonable. All were very friendly. In addition to Seneca's great cooking, she was very engaging and friendly, and great to be around.

As other reviews state, this may not be a place for everyone. If you like a truly unique and somewhat rustic experience, this is it. If you're looking for A/C, chlorinated pool, room service ... this is not for you.

Tips: Bring food and drinks with you before arriving. Schedule to have your meals prepared (breakfast and dinner, for sure). Schedule your tours after arrival. Plan to spend some time at the property to enjoy it. Would recommend Sky Trek for canopy tour and zip lining. Also recommend Baldi for hot springs and lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Great for large groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glichael78734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This place was AMAZING!! A little hard to find, so make sure you have solid directions. Jonathon, who runs the place, was waiting for us upon arrival. I don't know how taxis work in La Fortuna, we had a rental car, that worked fine. It's a 2 hour walk to town, so you will definitely need something with wheels to get to and from. Synaca, who is in charge of the meals, is a new addition to Princesa de la Luna, and she totally made the experience. We had fabulous breakfasts and dinners with her and the other guests, words cannot describe. All of the employees were helpful in setting up daytime activities. The lodging was good, clean and well kept. I would definitely make a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Highly recommended. We stayed here in February/March 2012. The location is away from the city center and we always felt VERY safe. As, three young women travelling alone, this was important. The location is about 10-15 minutes on one main road out of the city center and 5-10 minutes on a gravel/dirt road. Use the map on the website to help find, since there is no address, and make sure you have the phone number, in case of trouble finding. Once you get there, you will realize chosing to stay here was the right decision. You immediately feel like part of a family. Jonathon is so welcoming and passionate about the natural surroundings. Cenyeca (pronounced Seneca) is the chef and cooks delicious, fresh, simply perfect meals for the guests. She made the best food we had in Costa Rica, by far. They gladly help you figure out plans for the area (ziplining, white water rafting) if you would like recommendations, and will even make calls for you to set everything up.
It is located in the middle of the forest, and there are many paths built so you can spend hours and hours walking the land and hiking, taking pictures. The "watchdogs" (best dogs ever) are so friendly and will accompany you on hikes if you'd like. You can even just sit on the porch and have a spectacular view of Arenal Volcano and the forest and do bird watching. The room was free of bugs and very large and comfortable. I cannot say enough about how great our stay was and will absolutely be back again. I am not exaggerating about my ratings. Everything was excellent, and our trip would not have been as great if we had not stayed here.

Room Tip: Rooms are all really private and close to the main porch/kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Read the other reviews carefully and get a good idea of what Jonathan is offering so that you can decide if you are a match. (They seem pretty accurate - especially the one that lists pros and cons). If this is for you, you will have an excellent time. It was wonderful to hear birds when I awoke in the morning, and frogs when I went to sleep. It is probably best if you have a vehicle because you will be fairly isolated. If you don't, arrange with Diego next door to drive you to the "other" park on the volcano, and to the thermal river where the locals go. Two tour companies drive right past the lodge bringing guests canyoning (rappelling down waterfalls), so if you decide to do that they can pick you up at your door on the way to the waterfall. The neighbors are wonderful, so you can definitely meet some Ticos if you speak a bit of Spanish.

The housekeeping is not perfect, but the housekeepers are willing to help if asked, and are trustworthy and very friendly. I enjoyed the people and the atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TetaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a very beautiful place to visit in Costa Rica, and with a great view of the Volcano. Jonathan and the local gentlemen who work for him are very hospitable. There is also an organic farm very close where the owners gave us a tour and a handful of delicious groceries.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This place is amazing. We spent 4 days here and didn't want to leave. Jonathan is a wonderful host. They made breakfast every morning and introduced us to new things every day. One day we cranked out sugar cane water, another, coconut milk and fresh fruit every morning!!! It was so relaxing. My boyfriend and I walked up the creek to find the second pool. Unfortunately, high waters during the rainy season washed most of it away. After finding the pool, we continued up the river to find a waterfall. All this on the property!!! It was so easy to relax in all the beauty of the plants. Since it is 2.5k off the main road, you don't have any noise and can truly relax in peace and quiet. I hope to return some day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wootskim82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
5.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

Property: Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Address: La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Princess of the Moon Ecolodge is nestled in a lush tropical plant farm with a great location. This magical place is unusual, with more than 100 types of fruit trees, including many threatened and endangered species. The area is one of the most biodiverse and fertile in the world so wonderful to understand, observe and experience wildlife and nature. The aim is to integrate the principles of permaculture and creating a lifestyle self-sufficient and sustainable in harmony with the local biodiversity. Swimming pools, waterfalls, jacuzzi and many hiking trails on the farm as well as many other activities in the area. This is an interesting place for a honeymoon or a romantic adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Princesa De La Luna Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing