We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A pleasant lodge with good views and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Catarata Eco Lodge S.A to your Saves list
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A pleasant lodge with good views and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

A comfortable room which was good value for money with a huge breakfast and a good pool! A little way out from town but if driving not too much of a problem around 5 minutes. Good staff who give comprehensive information and speak english, not biassed towards commission, so always better

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
thanks for this review and recommend us!!! This is what we love, give to people the best of the best!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
40
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We spent three nights at La Catarata. The rooms were a little small but perfectly adequate for a couple or a couple with one young child. The hotel rooms are grouped in pairs around a beautiful garden; two rooms to a cabin. Outside each door is a veranda and hammock. The garden was very peaceful and a wonderful place to watch toucans, parrots and hummingbirds. The rooms, the pool and the restaurant were immaculate. There is a fantastic view of the volcano from the grounds. You can walk to the waterfall. The service was very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to use the hotel computer, all questions about the area answered enthusiastically, given free coffee when we asked, charged very little for having our laundry done (some places charge $5-10 a load).

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank magnolia54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
thanks for reviewing us!!!! we are very happy that you enjoy when you staid here!!!!
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Catarata Eco-Lodge was clean, with beautiful flowering bushes, trees, & colorful birds everywhere. We really enjoyed the peace & quiet there. Everyone at the hotel was very accommodating. Victor was especially helpful, made suggestions on activities and was very patient to answer all our questions regarding the area. The hotel is located just a few minutes from downtown La Fortuna and a short hike to La Fortuna Waterfall. When we schedule our next trip to Costa Rica, we will definitely stay at Catarata Eco-Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank df246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata-Eco-Lodge, Director de Recepción at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Hello, Thanks, we're still waiting for you, One minute is one minute, was great have to you in here and all our guest, thanks. see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This lodge is for the rustic lovers. It is located a few minutes drive from the town and is surrounded by the animals. We the landscape is very natural. The rooms are very small and basic with a double bed and single bed, but clean. What makes this place stand out in my mind was the service from the young lady who manages the front desk, support desk as well as being the watiress. She was friendly, helpful and helped us work on our spanish. She is a true gem! The breakfast was included in the price. You were given a choice between 3 types of breakfast were were filling and yummy. We also ate dinner there which was an excellent value and a yummy meal (compared to the tourist trap restaurants that we went to in town). There was a basic swimming pool, which was nice to cool off in.
This is a good place to go if you like being surrounded by nature and not requiring/wanting a lot of room space.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurebug13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
hello, thanks!!! this on 2009, now on 2014 you will have many more good services!!! all our staff very friendly and helpful!!! our chef will cook for you as best he can!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Catarata Eco-Lodge is a set of apartment-style rooms set in a beautiful garden full of flowers, birds, and a lovely pool. It was to be the first stop of our itinerary, and we were attracted by the promise of a quiet location and pool, and the fact that it is Costa Rican owned and run, with an ecological ethos. The place exceeded our expectations: We loved it. Spacious clean rooms with great showers and a good view of the famous volcano; a lovely setting; and warm and friendly staff who made us feel special.
I was worried about the lack of air-con in the rooms, but we found that the ceiling fans do a perfectly good job.
The kids loved the pool and spent many happy hours in it. We walked into town and felt glad we could return to our hotel oasis.
The walk up to the Fortuna Waterfall was fun. The walk into town took us about half and hour the kids, but should be about 15 mins, and a the taxi back was cheap. When we wanted to go further afield we got a taxi to come and pick us up at the hotel.
I made use of free internet access. The food was simple but pleasant: A choice of breakfast including traditional Costa Rican (loads of fresh fruit), and a good selection of evening meals satisfying children and adults alike.
All in all a real jewel of a place, excellent value for money, and somewhere we'd all love to go back to.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodwormuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thanks for your message, after the last 5 years we were working a lot to give the best service!!! so come back!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

The lodge is located a couple of miles outside of La Fortuna, close enough if you have a car like we did, but it might be somewhat inconvenient if you don't. It has a very beautiful setting in a rural area, fairly close to the La Fortuna Waterfall. The service was friendly upon check-in and the rest of our stay.

The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. There is a nice, small swimming pool. The rooms are large and decently furnished, but very dimly lit to the point of annoyance. The water is hot, and the rooms were clean. There was a friendly security guard present during the evening, although I doubt one was necessary. Breakfast is free, but it can be a mixed bag. Stick with eggs and gallo pinto, and stay away from American-type things like pancakes. You can use their business computer for free Internet.

This hotel was fine and I certainly don't regret our stay, but I didn't LOVE it. Going back to La Fortuna, I would probably try a different place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
thanks, right now are many changes, Wi-Fi acces, good food with our chef!!! and many more!! after 5 years everything is better"""
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

I recently stayed at this eco-lodge and want to echo "davenaff"'s review. We also found it clean, nice, quiet, and would stay there again. Victor at the front desk speaks very good English and was helpful and patient as we tried to plan our days. Although there are no public computers, they allowed us to use their business computer to access the internet during off hours. The lodge is situated 1.5 km down a very bumpy dirt road (although passable even in heavy rain) in a residential and agricultural area. there are 2-3 other eco-lodges also on this road. It is a a not-so-easy 2.5 km walk uphill to see the waterfall, but worth the trip (watch out for tourists who cannot ride horses trying to ride horses- can get dangerous).

Although we did not have a car, I might recommended getting one. The taxis to the hanging bridges are $20 each way, $4 each way into La Fortuna (although we walked), $10 each way to the hot springs,, and $20 each way to go to the west side of the volcano to see the lava at night. I saw car rental places in la Fortuna.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, eco-friendly
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Atrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Hello thanks for this comment, the roads are in asphalt now!! easier to drive, just a few meters not asphalted, !!! Victor say thanks!!! this recommendation is very helpufl for us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catarata Eco Lodge S.A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Property: Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
Address: 1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 62 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catarata Eco Lodge S.A 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of the Arenal Volcano , away from the noises of the city and from the highways, will be able to discover the captivation of returning to feel the nature, the singing of the birds and the creek of the sound of the gully. you can walk up to the majestic La Fortuna Waterfall, to share with the villagers, to walk along the National Park Arenal Volcano and in the night to relax in the thermal waters - mineral of the resorts of the zone, among many more things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Catarata Eco Lodge S.A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing