We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Toller Garten + Pool, ruhig, teuer, schwaches Frühstück” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Toller Garten + Pool, ruhig, teuer, schwaches Frühstück”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

No safe in the room
Any table or chair in the room
No soap, only one towel per person
Nice garden
We had two separate beds in the rooms
Expansive laundry service (per T-Shirt a US dollar ! better go to the laundry service in town)
WLAN does not reach the cottages
Wooden walls and roof are to dark to allow spotting and hunting mosquitos
Price with 74 USD per double (with breakfast) does not correspond to service provided
Down in the garden a nice place to sit under a roof and have meals
Down in the garden also a dark cage with a single really sad animal
It remained open what the ECO stands for – marketing without ecology?
Near the big waterfall, easy to walk there but cars, horses and buses use the same way you walk.
No shop nearby, you have to go /drive about 1 km to town

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thanks for your review!!!
One year ago we started to fix and remodel all our rooms!!! so now they are most beatiful, about the laudry we keep that price, you can calculate how much you pay to get downtown for you washing!!! :) then we get a good staff to bring you a better service, about the waterfall walk you are right so is a great attractive where everybody want to go!!! and about the sad animal, we have them there, at 2012 were around 5 animals there, maybe the others were hidden, why there because they are in extintion danger, on the 2013 we send those to a forest where they are very happy right now :) thanks so much!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    47
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
44
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in the Eco Lodge when we first arrived in Costa Rica, the room was great, clean and suited all our needs. Breakfast was great and the restaurant offered some fantastic dishes something for everyone, swimming pool is excellent with a outstanding backdrop of the volcano my children made the most of it using it everyday of our stay. You can walk to the waterfall which is worth a visit bring your swimming stuff with you as it is so refreshing to swim there. La Fortuna is near by and worth a visit you can get a taxi to and from there and they are reasonably priced. Eco Lodge has great gardens and the view of Arenal Volcano is awesome.I would recommend this place to stay if you are in the area of La Fortuna.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familydoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
hello, some years later but here we are replying!!!! thanks for your review!!!! this is what we like, GIVE a great Service!!! we hope more people can read this!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

If you are looking for a nice and charming eco lodge at Arenal Volcano, you should think about Catarata Ecolodge

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betomolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thanks for your review, and for customers, if you want to guess why he said that!! come and discover it!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We were really impressed with Catarata Eco-Lodge. The rooms were basic and very clean. It is a small lodge with a family feel. It is a great jump off location to the area's many sites. You can walk to the La Fortuna Waterfall! The view of the volcano from the pool area is next to none. There is also a local swimming hole a couple hundred yards from the property. The grounds are manicured and very impressive. The breakfast is included and it is tico typical. If you are looking for a mid-range place to stay in the area with a volcano view, look no further.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of their rooms. The are the attached cabana type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc0ttyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thanks for reviewing us!! this is really helpful for our Lodge!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

What a pleasant surprise, this hotel on the Cherro Chato hillside!

The beautiful garden makes you feel like you're in another world. The swimming pool is nice, clean and relaxing. Laying in your own hammock outside the room makes you forget the fact that the rooms are actually pretty basic and it's sometimes hard to keep the sheets around the matrasses.

The staff is friendly and helpful, and the restaurant offers various dishes, both local and international.

You do need a car, probably even a 4x4, to reach it. But once you do, you are both away from and close to all the excitement of La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Stay far away from any American school class!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_and_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
thanks for your review, well right now you maybe not need a 4*4 car, the roads are good to get here, and we worked to give a better service, so come and enjoy!! also a great volcano view!! thanks to this client by his review this is helpful!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

This lodge is right outside La Fortuna. It is close enough to La Fortuna that you can easily reach the town (and all the adventure activities that originate there). Price wasn't bad, we paid $207 for a three night stay in a double. This price included breakfast (pancakes or scrambled eggs, + fruit plate), but we skipped it one day because we hurried out to the Desafio Canyoneering adventure (which serves you a giant lunch at the end) The rooms were quiet (though you can hear a lot of birds!), and each one has a hammock outside. My only complaint with the room is that the light bulbs were so dim (especially in bathroom) that you could barely tell that they had been switched on!

We did not have a chance to use their pool, but saw others swimming in it, and it looked clean. They put fruit out on trees near the restaurant each morning, this attracts a wide variety of colorful birds, it is worthwhile to look for this bird display.

The staff was helpful. We got to La Fortuna long before the allowable check in time, but the lodge allowed us to keep our bags at the front desk so we wouldn't have them in our vehicle while we parked at the zipline tour.

The La Fortuna waterfall is just up the road from the lodge. It is well worth the $10 admission to hike the 500 steps down to see this waterfall.

This lodge had a couple large groups come through while we were there, so be careful to park where you won't get boxed in if a Tourismo bus is also in the parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
hello dear!! thanks for your review!!! well we fixed the lightbulbs for other kind of!!! so most customers will enjoy thanks to your advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

This lodge was great. The rooms are resonably priced, very clean and the garden is beautiful. The lodge restaurant was really good too. The hostess Anna was really helpful and nice. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebDizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
hey thanks for recommend us!! her name is Hannia just to metion it!!! :) come back and visit us!! :) all the reviews are very helpful!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#3 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catarata Eco Lodge S.A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Property: Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
Address: South from The School of Z-13 1 km | Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 68 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catarata Eco Lodge S.A 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of the Arenal Volcano , away from the noises of the city and from the highways, will be able to discover the captivation of returning to feel the nature, the singing of the birds and the creek of the sound of the gully. you can walk up to the majestic La Fortuna Waterfall, to share with the villagers, to walk along the National Park Arenal Volcano and in the night to relax in the thermal waters - mineral of the resorts of the zone, among many more things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Catarata Eco Lodge S.A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing