We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base camp with volcano views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Catarata Eco Lodge S.A to your Saves list
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great base camp with volcano views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We were really impressed with Catarata Eco-Lodge. The rooms were basic and very clean. It is a small lodge with a family feel. It is a great jump off location to the area's many sites. You can walk to the La Fortuna Waterfall! The view of the volcano from the pool area is next to none. There is also a local swimming hole a couple hundred yards from the property. The grounds are manicured and very impressive. The breakfast is included and it is tico typical. If you are looking for a mid-range place to stay in the area with a volcano view, look no further.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of their rooms. The are the attached cabana type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc0ttyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thanks for reviewing us!! this is really helpful for our Lodge!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
40
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

What a pleasant surprise, this hotel on the Cherro Chato hillside!

The beautiful garden makes you feel like you're in another world. The swimming pool is nice, clean and relaxing. Laying in your own hammock outside the room makes you forget the fact that the rooms are actually pretty basic and it's sometimes hard to keep the sheets around the matrasses.

The staff is friendly and helpful, and the restaurant offers various dishes, both local and international.

You do need a car, probably even a 4x4, to reach it. But once you do, you are both away from and close to all the excitement of La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Stay far away from any American school class!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_and_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
thanks for your review, well right now you maybe not need a 4*4 car, the roads are good to get here, and we worked to give a better service, so come and enjoy!! also a great volcano view!! thanks to this client by his review this is helpful!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
145 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

This lodge is right outside La Fortuna. It is close enough to La Fortuna that you can easily reach the town (and all the adventure activities that originate there). Price wasn't bad, we paid $207 for a three night stay in a double. This price included breakfast (pancakes or scrambled eggs, + fruit plate), but we skipped it one day because we hurried out to the Desafio Canyoneering adventure (which serves you a giant lunch at the end) The rooms were quiet (though you can hear a lot of birds!), and each one has a hammock outside. My only complaint with the room is that the light bulbs were so dim (especially in bathroom) that you could barely tell that they had been switched on!

We did not have a chance to use their pool, but saw others swimming in it, and it looked clean. They put fruit out on trees near the restaurant each morning, this attracts a wide variety of colorful birds, it is worthwhile to look for this bird display.

The staff was helpful. We got to La Fortuna long before the allowable check in time, but the lodge allowed us to keep our bags at the front desk so we wouldn't have them in our vehicle while we parked at the zipline tour.

The La Fortuna waterfall is just up the road from the lodge. It is well worth the $10 admission to hike the 500 steps down to see this waterfall.

This lodge had a couple large groups come through while we were there, so be careful to park where you won't get boxed in if a Tourismo bus is also in the parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
hello dear!! thanks for your review!!! well we fixed the lightbulbs for other kind of!!! so most customers will enjoy thanks to your advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

This lodge was great. The rooms are resonably priced, very clean and the garden is beautiful. The lodge restaurant was really good too. The hostess Anna was really helpful and nice. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebDizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
hey thanks for recommend us!! her name is Hannia just to metion it!!! :) come back and visit us!! :) all the reviews are very helpful!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

A comfortable room which was good value for money with a huge breakfast and a good pool! A little way out from town but if driving not too much of a problem around 5 minutes. Good staff who give comprehensive information and speak english, not biassed towards commission, so always better

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
thanks for this review and recommend us!!! This is what we love, give to people the best of the best!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We spent three nights at La Catarata. The rooms were a little small but perfectly adequate for a couple or a couple with one young child. The hotel rooms are grouped in pairs around a beautiful garden; two rooms to a cabin. Outside each door is a veranda and hammock. The garden was very peaceful and a wonderful place to watch toucans, parrots and hummingbirds. The rooms, the pool and the restaurant were immaculate. There is a fantastic view of the volcano from the grounds. You can walk to the waterfall. The service was very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to use the hotel computer, all questions about the area answered enthusiastically, given free coffee when we asked, charged very little for having our laundry done (some places charge $5-10 a load).

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank magnolia54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
thanks for reviewing us!!!! we are very happy that you enjoy when you staid here!!!!
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Catarata Eco-Lodge was clean, with beautiful flowering bushes, trees, & colorful birds everywhere. We really enjoyed the peace & quiet there. Everyone at the hotel was very accommodating. Victor was especially helpful, made suggestions on activities and was very patient to answer all our questions regarding the area. The hotel is located just a few minutes from downtown La Fortuna and a short hike to La Fortuna Waterfall. When we schedule our next trip to Costa Rica, we will definitely stay at Catarata Eco-Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank df246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata-Eco-Lodge, Director de Recepción at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Hello, Thanks, we're still waiting for you, One minute is one minute, was great have to you in here and all our guest, thanks. see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catarata Eco Lodge S.A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Property: Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
Address: 1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 62 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catarata Eco Lodge S.A 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of the Arenal Volcano , away from the noises of the city and from the highways, will be able to discover the captivation of returning to feel the nature, the singing of the birds and the creek of the sound of the gully. you can walk up to the majestic La Fortuna Waterfall, to share with the villagers, to walk along the National Park Arenal Volcano and in the night to relax in the thermal waters - mineral of the resorts of the zone, among many more things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Catarata Eco Lodge S.A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing