We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location”
Review of Hotel Vagabondo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vagabondo
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Great Value and Location”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Overall, a very great hotel. Our double room was perfect and spacious. The location was great considering we had a car and were easily able to get around to activities in town as well as further away. The stay included complimentary breakfast, which was delicious, but the same every morning. We went to town to celebrate New Years; the locals were very friendly and were happy to provide suggestions on restaurants and on what to do for the day. We were told that the Italian restaurant connected to the hotel was one of the best with authentic Italian cuisine. We found the food to be just ok and at times not what we thought it to be (example, chicken parmesan was actually a lasagna-type dish).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tplotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow Ru
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is not expensive small hotel near volcano Arenal. We paid 65$ per night for two adult and one child, breakfast was included (breakfast was good). Shower was not good, because heater for water was directly on the pipe and worked not properly. Not so far from hotel, you can find park with different kind of local animals, hot spring sources, beautiful waterfall Rio Fartuna and if you will lucky you can see volcano ( most of time it is in the clouds) . Hotel's Restaurant work at the early morning and in the evening. Preferable payment for hotel in cash, the price will be higher for 13% if you will pay by card.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We've spent there only one night when we chose a trip under Arenal Volcano. Location is ok, the area is really quiet, but for the city centre you need to take a taxi for 4$. Excellent staff, very helpful and polite. Great coffee in the hotel's restaurant. The room was big and comfortable. Small but very nice garden with pool, unfortunatelly they don't have view for the volcano. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It's clean and quiet. They've gone to some effort to make the rooms interesting, with the walls painted funky colors and lots of art hanging on them. The adjacent restaurant is comfortable; I particularly enjoyed a salad I had there my first night. The water pressure in the toilet was low. There are a few other restaurants in walking distance, and the waterfall is a medium-length hike.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohheyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit, MI
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Vagabondo for 7 nights at the beginning of January.

At the beginning of our stay, we had a very small room containing a full sized bed and a twin sized bed with barely enough room to walk around them, and no room to walk in between them. However, the room was clean, with A/C and a TV, plus a lovely tiled bathroom and lots of storage space. After we stayed a few days, we were upgraded to a much more spacious room with a nicer TV and even more storage space. The pool was clean and refreshing. Outside of the rooms there is a lounging area with a hammock, rocking chairs, and a small table.

The staff at Vagabondo were so friendly. We had a particularly friendly housekeeper, Maritza (sp?) who helped us with many things. She did our laundry during our stay and I swear our clothes have never been cleaner, or more neatly folded.

Breakfast at Vagabondo is basic, but nourishing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelaksch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and had the best time. It's a 20 minute walk from the town square and has a fantastic view of the volcano. It's a great location because we were so close to everything but had a more private quite atmosphere.The breakfast is sooooo good and they had a few options which was really nice. It's very very clean and the pool is really nice to have. The staff are so welcoming, friendly and helpful. It's a nice small hotel so we got know them all very well. This is our first visit to Costa Rica and it far exceeded any expectations. Highly highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GoShaynaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Really nice, small and quiet hotel with pool and great rooms. If you choose a "tipical breakfast"- I guarantee you will not regret it. Really nice and clean place, great staff and good prices and you have a very good view to Arenal volcano from here! Also- if you are planing to by a food in the shop- the big shop is just 5 min walk from hotel to the La Fortuna side.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ieva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,487 reviews
2.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,852 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
#20 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
754 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,299 reviews
7.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vagabondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vagabondo

Property: Hotel Vagabondo
Address: | 1.5 km oeste del parque de la fortuna sobre carretera hacia el Volcan Arenal, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vagabondo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the Vagabondo Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos and gives us a taste you contact us The rooms have a simple decoration to Italian style, with wooden furniture, feature garden, pool, restaurant and parking Also include Air conditioning or fan, TV, WIFI, safe, private bathroom and shower, plus breakfast included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vagabondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vagabondo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing