We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vagabondo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villas Vilma(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rey Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Magic Mountain(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arenal Rossi(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vista del Cerro(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Pradera del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arenal Jireh(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Regina Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
42
56
24
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
56
24
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall poolbudget hotelarenal volcanocommunal kitchencosta ricala fortunamain townsmall hotelfree breakfastpool areahot waterair conditioningreceptionisttourslaundrysodaprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 135 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at Hotel Vagabondo. It was clean, welcoming and very well priced. Staff was nice and helpful and food was great. It's small and isn't fancy but for that reason, it seemed homey and comfortable. The location was good, kind of mid-distance from a lot of things. Mostly very quiet except for the bar next door. It didn't bother us too much but it might if you had small kids.
Other than that, everything was great and I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank catiec23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

First, the caveat. As other reviews have noted, you are a bit out from town, so unless you have a car or don't mind a healthy walk (that's what we did), you may want something closer to town or in a more inclusive resort sort of place. I'm guessing if you are looking at this review, you don't fall in that latter group. The rooms (we stayed in 2 different ones because we extended our stay in Arenal) were both great. Comfortable, clean, nicely decorated, hot shower. No complaints. Breakfast was your typical Costa Rican b&b breakfast of eggs, toast, gallo pinto, and fruit. There is a small pool that we never used, but it's nice to have options. This b&b also has a great little gift shop attached to it with a wide variety of products. There is a also a great Italian food / pizza place attached. I really can't comment on anything but the pizza since it was so good we had it twice. I believe the exact one we had was called the Diabolic. If you like spicy and you like pizza, you might have it twice too :) Finally, the staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, a fantastic value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevev23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for $43 a night with breakfast included. they serve eggs, toast, fruit, coffee & juice. There's also a souvenier shop at the hotel & a pizzeria and lounge right next door. The receptionist is very nice. The rooms are very comfy, they have heater/AC, TV,safe & hot water for showering. Town is 5 mins away by car, The springs Resort is like 15 mins away, Arenal Volcano is 20 mins away..overall a great place to stay, its a very safe place too. i truly reccomend it. :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabyrocha0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Vagabondo 1 night and I cannot say anything bad about this place. Since we were going to leave early in the morning, we paid $40 for the room with no breakfast. Jonathan was very nice and helpfull. We had the first room just beside the little patio where we could relax either on the hamac or in the rocking chairs. Room was very clean and service very good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vi0laine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Good value at $40 per night with breakfast .
Jonathon and Errol very helpful employees with good English.
Rooms safe secure but basic.simple rooms not an issue for me as am out touring most of the day.
Pizzeria great but not cheap.
Located two kms out of town.if you don't like walking or don't have a car,maybe Vagabondo is not for you.
Could not get water in room any hotter than tepid!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteross2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews