We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little local eatery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soda Viquez

Soda Viquez
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little local eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Although the staff did not speak English, they were very nice and we tried foods from their buffet that were very tasty. Even had a visit from their sweet little cat afterwards!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,101
    491
    132
    38
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Local Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Soda Viquez was recommended to us by a local tour guide and we weren't disappointed. The casados were wonderful and included a little bit of everything from the hot buffet. The batidos (fruit drinks with milk or water) were great and very reasonably priced. If you want good Tico food, this is a great place in La Fortuna.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BenLb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiowa, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great local feel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The place was busy but they did everything they could to make it work for our group of 6. Even moved tables to make us all sit together. Very friendly and efficient. All six of us had different meals and all were good local fare. The price was very reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tmcvicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Food - slow service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We went to this place because of the tripadvisor reviews and also it was recommended by our cabina owner. This is a value move – delicious food for a very good price. We both got the sea bass casado. I thought everything was good except the fish (texture kind of gelatinous and tasted like tilapia) – but my girlfriend liked the fish. I would get the steak or chicken casado next time. The casdos come with so many good sides. We also got delicious guanabana smoothies – so good. Our service was very very slow – which sucked because we were starving after traveling for 16 hours that day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CoolMoDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great local food...great price...friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We looked for a local restaurant at a reasonable price for a quite a while on here. Most of the restaurants in this area seem like tourist traps that are over priced. We finally decide to take a cab from our hotel (royal corin which is excellent by the way) to Soda Viquez. The variety and staff were excellent right from the start. No, this is not a 5 star restaurant, but if you are looking for somewhere that represents that laid back friendly feel of Costa Rica, then you will enjoy this place. We had coconut shakes, grilled Covina and Cansado con pollo. Everything was wonderful and it was the perfect way to end an excellent day in Costa Rica.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 295Shan12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Viquez also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda Viquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing