We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular local eatery with good prices”
Review of Soda Viquez

Soda Viquez
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
165 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Popular local eatery with good prices”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have to think the reason this place is rated so highly is about it's prices. We were disappointed with the food overall in the LaFortuna area, so this was a great place to save some money. We had a party of six, so there were varied meals at our table. The casados were fine and we ate because we were hungry, but I didn't find anything fabulous or the portions to be huge like others stated. Two of our party got cheeseburgers and fries, and they said the fries were great but complained that the burger was not good, but tasted like it had corn meal in it? (Yes, I know...who comes to CR to order a hamburger anyway) I'm wondering if after people are burned so many times with the high costs of other restaurants in the area, this is a welcome change. No complaints, just budget friendly food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockmama12052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,171
    518
    140
    41
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, New York
2 reviews
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Food was really good. The staff was extremely friendly. Could not beat the prices, very inexpensive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drmil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reasonable price for good food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel staff recommended this place . Good traditional Costa Rican food to stay under your budget. Clean. Friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LawY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST IN LA FORTUNA !”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

other sodas are good... but this restaurant is by far the BEST !
The portions are huge! Great value and amazing food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One word "unforgettable"”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This local spot has not only a quaint feel but the service here is simply amazing. Rosa was our server and she called us by our first names and made sure that our eating costa rica tipical food experience was memorable. The food was delicious, the batidos de papaya and coco were the best my wife and I had, and again te service was well worth our 40% tip (the food cost is low so it all came out to like $25 for two people and 4 drinks). This place is a must in La Fortuna.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alvitesg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Viquez also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda Viquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing